Tournament Tuesday: Kalitas and Anointed Procession

EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set's release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect  (such as Kalitas' effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas' ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or ability, Procession will still apply. The original post below will remain for posterity, but it is no longer applicable. Buckle up, because today's

Read more.

Archfiend of Ifrit And Cycling

And welcome back! Amonkhet gave us back an old favorite ability in Cycling, letting you discard cards you don't currently need to dig for cards you do. On top of that, there's cards that synergize well with it, like letting you cycle for free if you have a hand of 7 cards, or letting you pay a little extra for a 2/2 Drake on top of your cycling. But, you may notice that Drake Haven triggers whenever you cycle OR discard a card- so does it trigger twice, once for the activation of Cycling, and once

Read more.

Hapatra and Wither: Who’s Putting These Counters?

Welcome back! Today's topic will be the new card, and how she works. On the surface, pretty simply: Whenever you put some -1/-1 counters on a creature, you get a 1/1 deathtouching Snake as a bonus. That's fairly simple with effects like or , which are effects that you control telling you "Hey, put a counter on that thing". That'll trigger Hapatra and grow your Ophiological family. You also only get one Snake per creature you're shrinking; if you were to put 10 -1/-1 counters on a single creature,

Read more.

Peema Aether-Seer – How to benefit from “blocks if able” (and how you can’t)

Hi everyone, and welcome back. Today, we're going to talk about , and some good (and some bad) things that you can do when using her activated ability. Peema has an activated ability that forces a target creature to block this turn if able. It's only able to block if it could block. For instance, targeting a tapped creature is fairly pointless, since a tapped creature can't block. Likewise, if you use the ability on a creature without flying or reach, then attack with a creature with flying, since

Read more.

Going Infinite: Wandering Fumarole and Crackdown Construct

Want to surprise your opponent with a combo out of nowhere? and just might be the combo for you. The combo begins in a deck that can reasonably produce red and blue mana. You'll want to play an early Fumarole, and later, the Construct. When it comes time to attack with your seemingly harmless 2/2, you activate the Fumarole's second ability to make it a creature, and then start activating its third ability over and over for 0 mana, flipping the power and toughness. Every time you do so (for 0

Read more.

Going Infinite: Saheeli Rai and Felidar Guardian

Finally! The combo everyone has been waiting for! (not exactly, but close) is back and in Standard. If you’re not familiar with the planeswalker , then you should probably check her out before you start building your standard deck. She is a three Converted Mana Cost (CMC) planeswalker that allows you to make a one-turn copy of a creature or artifact as soon as she enters by only using two loyalty. Independently, she is not that exciting, I'll admit. Then comes Aether Revolt, and with it, . When

Read more.

Going ‘Infinite’ week! A refresher on loop shortcuts.

Infinite possibilities in Kaladesh! Oh no! Looks like it's time to brush up on what happens when your cards create an infinite loop. Let us start with the old / combo that allows you to put an infinite amount of exarchs on the battlefield with haste to swing in for infinite damage. Active Player has a Deceiver Exarch on the battlefield. They then cast Splinter Twin, enchanting the Exarch. Once the twin has resolved, the Active player taps their exarch and makes a copy of it. When the copy enters

Read more.

Getting to the Heart of Kiran

, the flagship of the renegade faction on Kaladesh, and a strong contender for flagship card of the set as well. This Vehicle is unusual in that it has not one, but two ways to crew it. The first, normal way is to tap creatures with a combined power of 3 or greater. But what if you're in a bit of a pinch and find yourself creatureless? Planeswalkers can fill in as well! All for the low, low cost of one loyalty counter, you can send a planeswalker behind the wheel. Bear in mind this is a crew ability,

Read more.

Aether Revolt Prerelease Week: Energy Refresher

Welcome back to Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Today we're going over another returning mechanic from Kaladesh (and boy is it a doozy): Energy. Lots of spells and abilities from this block will grant you Energy counters. These counters are put on you, the player (much like Poison or Experience counters), and can be spent in a variety of ways. And hey, since they're counters, anything that interacts with counters on a player works on Energy (notably they can be Proliferated, and things like ). A lot

Read more.

Aether Revolt Prerelease Week: Vehicle Refresher

Welcome back to Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Today we're going over Vehicles, a returning card type and mechanic from Kaladesh. Vehicles have a unique card frame, including a Power and Toughness box on the bottom right, even though they aren't creatures... normally. All Vehicles have an ability called "Crew", which is always followed by a number. "Crew N" is an activated ability that lets you tap any number of creatures you control, so long as their total power is at least N, to 'crew' the vehicle.

Read more.