Soul-Scar Mage Doesn’t Stack

The Lorwyn block was one of my favorites, and Wither was one of the neater abilities to come out of that mega-block; damage from a source with Wither is dealt as -1/-1 counters, rather than marking damage onto a creature. It was like damage that never wore off! We have a sort of throwback to that in Amonkhet, thanks to . He might not have Wither printed on him, but the spirit is there- he turns noncombat damage from your sources into -1/-1 counters. Unlike Wither, this isn't changing the result of

Read more.

Recruiter of the Guard and CDAs

That's right, kids, today we're dipping our toes into Legacy (or Commander, I guess)! is a nifty little sort-of-color-shift of that was released in Conspiracy 2: Electric Boogaloo (Also known as Take The Crown). Both of them work along the same lines- they're 3 mana 1/1s that fetch small creatures from your library. Imperial Recruiter finds things with POWER 2 or less, while the Guard recruits need TOUGHNESS 2 or less. Either way, they dig for an appropriate creature, have you reveal it, and put

Read more.

Fumigate and Kalitas

Yesterday, we talked a bit about Kalitas (and it was somewhat complicated!), and we're still talking about that Zombie-making Vampire everyone loves, but it'll be a bit simpler. blasts the board like many other Wraths, and gains you some life for everything it destroys- but what, specifically, does that mean? It has to actually destroy a creature to gain you some life (so it won't gain you any life for the Amonkhet gods, since they're Indestructible), but that creature doesn't have to end up in

Read more.

Tournament Tuesday: Kalitas and Anointed Procession

EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set's release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect  (such as Kalitas' effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas' ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or ability, Procession will still apply. The original post below will remain for posterity, but it is no longer applicable. Buckle up, because today's

Read more.

Magma Spray And Later Deaths

Many people rejoiced when they saw in the Amonkhet spoilers, as a way to deal with pesky little things like , and to deal with the new threat of Embalm creatures- as the flavor text says, you can't embalm ashes, after all. Magma Spray does 2 damage to a target creature, and exiles it if it would die this turn. The majority of the time, Magma Spray will be aimed at a creature it kills- like the Scrounger, or a , so it's pretty simple. Shock your guy, exile it instead of graveyard. But what happens

Read more.

Hapatra and Wither: Who’s Putting These Counters?

Welcome back! Today's topic will be the new card, and how she works. On the surface, pretty simply: Whenever you put some -1/-1 counters on a creature, you get a 1/1 deathtouching Snake as a bonus. That's fairly simple with effects like or , which are effects that you control telling you "Hey, put a counter on that thing". That'll trigger Hapatra and grow your Ophiological family. You also only get one Snake per creature you're shrinking; if you were to put 10 -1/-1 counters on a single creature,

Read more.

Tournament Tuesday: The Rules vs. Can’t Lose Effects

Welcome back to the Rules Blog! Today we'll be going over something that's occasionally misunderstood: effects that prevent you from losing the game. The ur-example of this is good old , but there's been others- most recently, the emblem from . So long as you have that Emblem, and a Planeswalker with the "Gideon" subtype, you can't lose and your opponents can't win. That means you'll stay alive even with 0 or less life, 10 or more poison counters, or having tried to draw from an empty library. Any

Read more.

All About Exquisite Archangel

Today we’ll be talking about , a creature with a rather unusual ability; it doesn’t do anything until you’re about to lose the game! Of course, the effect is a powerful one indeed, which replaces losing with going back to your starting life total, one which essentially undoes all your opponent’s hard work if they were trying to win by damage. It doesn’t even matter if the Angel would die at the same time (you’ll still regain life, and then you’ll decide whether to send the Angel to

Read more.

Aether Revolt Prerelease Week: Vehicle Refresher

Welcome back to Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Today we're going over Vehicles, a returning card type and mechanic from Kaladesh. Vehicles have a unique card frame, including a Power and Toughness box on the bottom right, even though they aren't creatures... normally. All Vehicles have an ability called "Crew", which is always followed by a number. "Crew N" is an activated ability that lets you tap any number of creatures you control, so long as their total power is at least N, to 'crew' the vehicle.

Read more.

Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Revolution! (May or may not be televised)

Good morning and welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! We all hope you had a wonderful holiday season, and we're back in action, starting with our Prerelease Week for Aether Revolt! Every day this week we'll be going over things you'd like to know for the event, from covering the new mechanics, to refreshers on the old, to logistics on what to expect in general. Today we're starting with Revolution, the new mechanic the Renegades have at their disposal. Revolt isn't a keyword- it's an ability word,

Read more.