Today we’re continuing with the Modern Rules Tips! Since day one of the format, people have been jamming artifacts together for highly efficient aggro. Whether you call it Affinity or Robots or Tin Man All Star Band, the deck remains the same: Lots of artifacts getting turned sideways. The deck doesn’t tend to have a […]
There have been a lot of questions about The Gitrog Monster being a combo-enabler, letting you cycle through most of your deck in your cleanup step if you end the turn with 8+ cards. We explain how that works in detail!
Monastery Siege and other draw step triggers can only go on the stack and resolve after you've drawn your card for the turn, making them considerably better than the other way around!
Today’s post is going to be about everyone’s favorite Goblin buddy-maker (Well, second favorite for Commander players! No hard feelings, Krenko): Goblin Rabblemaster. He slices, he dices, he makes disposable bodies to feed to and he looks great while doing it. But how can you stop your opponent from getting those tasty tasty Rabblemaster tokens […]
And now we close out the week with anti-synergy: messing with your opponent’s plays! We all know that is just a circus of value- it helps you fix your land drops if you’ve got none in hand (or just lets you bluff that the three Forests in your hand are actually useful calls without missing […]
Ivorytusk Fortress tells you to untap your creatures with +1/+1 counters during your opponent's untap step, while Icy Blast and its kin say they don't untap during their *controller's* next untap step. This means there's no problem untapping during the opponent's turn!
Welcome back to our Prerelease Primer Week! Today we’ll be focusing on the mechanic of the Red/White/Black Mardu clan, who revere the speed of the dragon. Fitting with this theme is their mechanic, Raid. Like lots of recent mechanics, Raid has no real rules meaning inherent to it- it’s just what we call an “ability […]
The Inspired abilities might trigger during your untap step, but triggers can't go on the stack in that step. In essence, they will work like an upkeep trigger and you can order them along with any other upkeep triggers you need to put on the stack at the same time!
"Any time you could cast a sorcery" has a bit more rules meaning than the printed text. We explain what it really means and why it's worded this way!
Losing first strike or double strike after dealing damage doesn't let a creature deal regular damage in the next step... because that just wouldn't make sense!