Finally! The combo everyone has been waiting for! (not exactly, but close) is back and in Standard. If you’re not familiar with the planeswalker , then you should probably check her out before you start building your standard deck. She is a three Converted Mana Cost (CMC) planeswalker that allows you to make a one-turn […]
To round out the week, we’ll take a look at , who isn’t the legendary werewolf creature players have been howling for, but is quite possibly the next best thing. Unlike her werewolf brethren (and precedential flip-walker, ), Arlinn is something special: she can control her transformation, and can even transform back and forth “at […]
Hi everyone, and we’re back! Let’s get right to it and talk about our final creature/planeswalker, Nissa! Nissa, Vastwood Seer will transform into Nissa, Sage Animist, if you play a land and you control seven or more lands after that land has entered the battlefield. This trigger checks the number of lands you control at […]
Hi everyone, and welcome back. Let’s dive right in today, and talk about today’s creature/planeswalker, Chandra. Chandra, Fire of Kaladesh is able to transform into Chandra, Roaring Flame if you activate Chandra’s activated ability and have dealt 3 or more damage with Chandra this turn. Note that this doesn’t just count damage from Chandra’s activated […]
Welcome back. I know, it’s weird. It’s the weekend, and we’re updating! It’s not what you’re used up. But creatures transforming into planeswalkers is also weird, and we’re just so excited about these new planeswalkers that we want to talk about them But enough about that, let’s talk about Kytheon, Hero of Akros. Or, as […]
We’ve gone a level past two-card synergy: now we’re discussing ONE CARD SYNERGY! Or we’re just throwing around the word ‘synergy’ more often than a late-90s office-slogan guy, take your pick. We’re sticking with for today’s tip as well though. Now, you probably know that the game considers each Ashiok you play to be a […]
That’s right! MORE SYNERGY! Control decks might have a hard time dealing with swarms of creatures, so they tend to play board-wipe spells like or (, we hardly knew ye…). But wiping the board doesn’t do you much more than buy time if you don’t have a threat of your own! Luckily, Planeswalkers live through […]
The Chain Veil got a lot of speculative discussion after it was spoiled, before the release notes were available. We explain the now-official answer about how it works!
By now, I hope we’re all familiar with the planeswalker redirection rule. This is the rule that says if a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you can choose to deal that damage to a planeswalker they control instead. This is to get around the fact that something like a can […]
Under the new rules, you can activate your planeswalker, then cast a second copy, put only the old one in the graveyard (instead of both!), and activate the new one! Not always the best value, but a neat trick that can come in handy in certain situations.