Aether Revolt Prerelease Week: Vehicle Refresher

Welcome back to Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Today we're going over Vehicles, a returning card type and mechanic from Kaladesh. Vehicles have a unique card frame, including a Power and Toughness box on the bottom right, even though they aren't creatures... normally. All Vehicles have an ability called "Crew", which is always followed by a number. "Crew N" is an activated ability that lets you tap any number of creatures you control, so long as their total power is at least N, to 'crew' the vehicle.

Read more.

Crewing Cultivator’s Caravan

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! We sure missed you. Today we'll be starting on our tips from Kaladesh! To start with, we'll cover crewing, and crewing a specific card: . Every Vehicle has the Crew ability, which is followed by a number (in this case, Crew 3). That means that anytime you have priority, you can tap any number of creatures you control with total power 3 or more to Crew that vehicle; it becomes a creature, and has Power and Toughness as printed in the lower-right of the card.

Read more.

Kaladesh Prerelease Week: Vehicles!

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! With the Kaladesh Prerelease coming up this very weekend, we'll be going over some general tips for the prerelease, as well as a little tutorial on the new mechanics of the set. We'll start this crash course (I will not apologize for the pun) on the first: Vehicles! Vehicles are an interesting new subtype of Artifact; they have a slightly different frame, and a brown Power/Toughness box. Despite having P/T printed on them, they're not creatures- not inherently,

Read more.

Bestow and Sigarda’s Aid

Today we'll be talking about another card from Eldritch Moon, but in the context of some slightly older cards. is a nifty little trick for decks that like to beef up their creatures- it lets you flash in your Auras as combat tricks or at the end of your opponent's turn, and it lets you flash in Equipment and then attach them to things for free! But how does it work with Auras that sometimes aren't, like the Bestow creatures from Theros? Well, the answer is "quite well". Normally the way Bestow works

Read more.

Awaken: One Land, or Many!

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! This week we'll be discussing the new mechanics from Battle for Zendikar, starting with Awaken today! Awaken is an alternate cost found on Instant and Sorcery spells, costing more than the 'normal' cost. If you cast the spell for the alternate "Awaken" cost, you get the added effect of animating one of your own lands as a creature! For example, has Awaken 4. That means if you use the Awakening cost, you'll target a land of yours, and it'll become a 0/0 creature

Read more.

Ensoul Artifact – Learn All About It!

Making a 5/5 flyer or 5/5 indestructible creature on turn two brightens my soul. Both options are possible with . works by setting the base power and toughness of any artifact to 5/5 and, if it isn’t already, makes it a creature. The best part about this transformation is that it does not affect the card’s text- meaning if it’s a flyer before the Aura resolves it remains a flyer (same with indestructible and so on). See that 0/2 ? Now you’ve got a 5/5 Super-Ornithopter bashing in for a

Read more.

Mind Control and Gods: Not a Great Idea

So your opponent is staring you down with an active , or maybe his is online and giving you the business. Your board is fairly barren, but you've got a nice little in your hand, and you're ready to turn that threat into an answer! Well, you shouldn't. Devotion is a static ability on the five Gods we have, and it's constantly checking itself. If you take over their god with your or , the chances are low that you'll get to keep it! As soon as the God switches over to your control, it'll check

Read more.

When Bestow Creatures Can Attack

A misconception I've seen a lot of is players thinking that once a noncreature permanent becomes a creature, it gains summoning sickness until it's been a creature for a turn. That's simply not true! The rules don't care how long a permanent has been a creature, just how long you've controlled that specific permanent. So for example, if you put a onto one of your creatures at the end of your opponent's turn, and the creature dies before combat on your very next turn, the can attack! It's only been

Read more.

How to Attack with Mutavault

is back in town, and doing fun things! It swings for 2, it gets pumped by , it has the subtypes of Ninja Mutant Turtle- and it taps for mana! What a land. However, some people don't know how to properly attack with it! You see, to swing with your Mutavault, it has to be a creature when you start declaring attackers, which is the absolute first part of the Declare Attackers step. So, by-the-book, it needs to be a creature BEFORE that point. Your last chance to animate it so it can attack is during

Read more.