Recruiter of the Guard and CDAs

That's right, kids, today we're dipping our toes into Legacy (or Commander, I guess)! is a nifty little sort-of-color-shift of that was released in Conspiracy 2: Electric Boogaloo (Also known as Take The Crown). Both of them work along the same lines- they're 3 mana 1/1s that fetch small creatures from your library. Imperial Recruiter finds things with POWER 2 or less, while the Guard recruits need TOUGHNESS 2 or less. Either way, they dig for an appropriate creature, have you reveal it, and put

Read more.

Failing to Comply: Priority and Aftermath cards

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! As of today, Amonkhet is legal for Standard (and Modern and Legacy), so next week we're going to be going back to dealing with Standard questions and tips, but for today we'll generally be covering the new Split cards from Amonkhet, all of which have Aftermath. As with the old split cards, these little beauties have two "spells" printed on them; UNLIKE the old ones, only one of those sides at a time is usually available to you. The 'top' half is what you can cast

Read more.

You Can’t Bounce the Dead!

Today we'll be talking about the wording on some targeted spells and abilities- specifically, things that tell you to "return target creature to its owner's hand". They've been around since Day One with cards like , allowing you to temporarily get rid of a threat at a low cost, or even to save one of your own creatures from a sticky situation. But the wording is very specific- "target creature". Whenever an effect refers to a card type like that, with just the type, there's a sort of invisible word

Read more.

Fusing with Expertise

In Aether Revolt, we got a neat cycle of spells that let you free-cast another spell as one of their effects, like . As we covered during the prerelease week, you'll pick the card from your hand to cast during the resolution of the Expertise, and then the spell you free-cast will resolve after that. It also needs to have a Converted Mana Cost lower than the Expertise, since all of them let you cast a spell with CMCs up to "1 lower than this spell", effectively. But how can we double up the value

Read more.

Fatal Push can punish you if you’re careless…

Hi everyone, and welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! If you read , its wording looks a little bit weirder than what you'd expect to see on a card of that type. Instead of being worded like , which can only target a creature with a converted mana cost of three or less, Fatal Push can actually target any creature, but will only destroy the creature if the creature has a converted mana cost of two or less (or four or less, if you've enabled revolt). What does this mean? Well, it means that Fatal

Read more.

Mechanized Production – Tips and tricks

Welcome back to the Rules Tips blog! I hope everyone who went to a Prerelease had a great time, and you’re looking forward to the release of Aether Revolt! This week, we're taking a look at some of the cooler individual cards in the set, starting with the latest in Magic's growing family of alternate win condition cards, . The first part of Mechanized Production is pretty straightforward: Enchant an artifact, and at the start of each of your upkeeps, you'll get a token copy of it. But read on,

Read more.

Aether Revolt Prerelease Week: Vehicle Refresher

Welcome back to Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Today we're going over Vehicles, a returning card type and mechanic from Kaladesh. Vehicles have a unique card frame, including a Power and Toughness box on the bottom right, even though they aren't creatures... normally. All Vehicles have an ability called "Crew", which is always followed by a number. "Crew N" is an activated ability that lets you tap any number of creatures you control, so long as their total power is at least N, to 'crew' the vehicle.

Read more.

Crewing Cultivator’s Caravan

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! We sure missed you. Today we'll be starting on our tips from Kaladesh! To start with, we'll cover crewing, and crewing a specific card: . Every Vehicle has the Crew ability, which is followed by a number (in this case, Crew 3). That means that anytime you have priority, you can tap any number of creatures you control with total power 3 or more to Crew that vehicle; it becomes a creature, and has Power and Toughness as printed in the lower-right of the card.

Read more.