Aether Revolt Prerelease Week: Vehicle Refresher

Welcome back to Aether Revolt Prerelease Week! Today we're going over Vehicles, a returning card type and mechanic from Kaladesh. Vehicles have a unique card frame, including a Power and Toughness box on the bottom right, even though they aren't creatures... normally. All Vehicles have an ability called "Crew", which is always followed by a number. "Crew N" is an activated ability that lets you tap any number of creatures you control, so long as their total power is at least N, to 'crew' the vehicle.

Read more.

Blood Moon and Dryad Arbor

Modern Madness continues, if you hadn't caught onto this week's theme. Since the manabases in Modern can get greedy with their shocks and fetches and other color-providing wonder, is a common sideboard hate card to punish those greedy manabases. A whole board of colorfixing goodness, turned into nearly worthless Mountains for the low low price of 2R! But how does it interact with weird lands, like , the Forest whose bark IS its bite? Well, to find out, we look at the layers! Blood Moon does its

Read more.

Melira and Inkmoth Nexus

Infect! Quite the polarizing mechanic in most areas, it was either considered laughably bad or stupidly broken depending on who you were talking to. It's gained some traction lately with eggs-in-one-basket rush decks, especially in Modern, and it's possible you might run into a Pod deck running and you want to know how it interacts with your guys. For the most part: badly. Melira will strip away their Infect, meaning they just do regular old normal damage to stuff. Your or will need to connect

Read more.

Turn // Burn vs. Enchantments // +1/+1 Counters

Alright, it's time for everyone's favorite topic: layers! Wait, please, stop, don't go. We're only going to be looking at the power and toughness layer, and after reading this, you won't look so confused after you tried to Turn and Burn your opponent's creature that's enchanted by an Unflinching Courage and find out that the creature didn't die. Alright, so a quick refresher, let's look at the three relevant sublayers in the power and toughness layer to this question (note there are two other

Read more.

Mark for Death on Ember Beast. Can you block at all?

In Magic: The Gathering’s judging system, combat-based rules questions are considered especially heinous. On this blog, the dedicated judges who investigate these tricky interactions are members of an elite squad known as the Special Cards Unit. These are their stories. “Captain! I’m so glad you’re here; it’s a bad one.” “What’s the situation, Sergeant?” “Well, as you can see, we’ve got a single victim, Beast subtype. Middle-aged, so his CMC was probably 3 or 4,

Read more.

Switching Power and Toughness is always applied last.

Effects that switch the power and toughness of a creature are always applied last. Why? It's just easier to calculate. For example: Lets start with a 1/4 and switch it power and toughness via its Landfall triggered ability so it is now a 4/1. If at the beginning of the combat step it get +2/+0 from 's triggered ability, the Snapper will end up as a 4/3. This is because when calculating the power and toughness of this Snapper you start with its 'base' 1/4 characteristics, add the +2/+0 from

Read more.

How Inkmoth Nexus and Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas interact.

One area of player confusion is how multiple abilities that 'animate' a permanent interact. A very common interaction that has come up a lot lately deals with ' animation ability and the planeswalker second activated ability. In order to get this ball rolling, you must first use Inkmoth Nexus' ability to turn the Nexus into a 1/1 artifact creature land with both flying and infect. This Nexus will still have the normal abilities of an Inkmoth Nexus, the mana ability and the 'animation' activated

Read more.