Tournament Tuesday: Kalitas and Anointed Procession

EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set's release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect  (such as Kalitas' effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas' ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or ability, Procession will still apply. The original post below will remain for posterity, but it is no longer applicable. Buckle up, because today's

Read more.

Heart-Piercer Manticore and Reflexive Triggers

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! Today is going to be a bit of a Tournament Tip as well as a Rules Tip- we'll be going over an entirely new kind of trigger, introduced in Amonkhet. has a neat trigger- when it enters the battlefield, you can sacrifice another creature to have the Manticore deal damage to a target creature or player- basically, it's in Manticore form. What's odd about it, though, is the wording- in the past, something like this would say "IF you do" (referring to saccing another

Read more.

Archfiend of Ifrit And Cycling

And welcome back! Amonkhet gave us back an old favorite ability in Cycling, letting you discard cards you don't currently need to dig for cards you do. On top of that, there's cards that synergize well with it, like letting you cycle for free if you have a hand of 7 cards, or letting you pay a little extra for a 2/2 Drake on top of your cycling. But, you may notice that Drake Haven triggers whenever you cycle OR discard a card- so does it trigger twice, once for the activation of Cycling, and once

Read more.

Ending Turns Gloriously with Glorious End

Welcome back! Today we're going over a nifty new mythic: . What does it do? Well, it ends the turn! Unlike the last few effects to do this (namely and ), this can be done during someone else's turn, if you'd like. It can be used as a pseudo-counterspell or Stifle, since ending the turn exiles everything currently on the stack, which is the primary use Sundial had (you can even use it during your End Step to stop "at the beginning of the next end step" triggers dead in their tracks!). But because

Read more.

Magma Spray And Later Deaths

Many people rejoiced when they saw in the Amonkhet spoilers, as a way to deal with pesky little things like , and to deal with the new threat of Embalm creatures- as the flavor text says, you can't embalm ashes, after all. Magma Spray does 2 damage to a target creature, and exiles it if it would die this turn. The majority of the time, Magma Spray will be aimed at a creature it kills- like the Scrounger, or a , so it's pretty simple. Shock your guy, exile it instead of graveyard. But what happens

Read more.

Hapatra and Wither: Who’s Putting These Counters?

Welcome back! Today's topic will be the new card, and how she works. On the surface, pretty simply: Whenever you put some -1/-1 counters on a creature, you get a 1/1 deathtouching Snake as a bonus. That's fairly simple with effects like or , which are effects that you control telling you "Hey, put a counter on that thing". That'll trigger Hapatra and grow your Ophiological family. You also only get one Snake per creature you're shrinking; if you were to put 10 -1/-1 counters on a single creature,

Read more.

Failing to Comply: Priority and Aftermath cards

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! As of today, Amonkhet is legal for Standard (and Modern and Legacy), so next week we're going to be going back to dealing with Standard questions and tips, but for today we'll generally be covering the new Split cards from Amonkhet, all of which have Aftermath. As with the old split cards, these little beauties have two "spells" printed on them; UNLIKE the old ones, only one of those sides at a time is usually available to you. The 'top' half is what you can cast

Read more.

Prophecy and You: How As Foretold Foretells!

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! Today we'll be going over a particularly spicy card from Amonkhet: . On the surface, it's a pretty simple enchantment; every turn it gets a Time Counter, and every turn you can free-cast a spell with converted mana cost equal to or less than the number of Time Counters it has. So the turn after you play it, you get a free 1-drop; the next turn, a free 2-drop, etc, etc. However, beneath that surface is a lot of depth! First, As Foretold doesn't work with other

Read more.

Decimator Beetle Targeting

Welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! With the release of Amonkhet, we've got a whole slew of new cards and the questions to go with them. Once the set releases on Friday and becomes Standard Legal, we'll have more tips about interactions with the format as a whole, but for this week we'll be going over some specific cards. To start with, , a big bad beetleborg that shares the love... in the form of -1/-1 counters! Like many of the green cards in the set, the Beetle throws a -1/-1 counter onto one

Read more.

You Can’t Bounce the Dead!

Today we'll be talking about the wording on some targeted spells and abilities- specifically, things that tell you to "return target creature to its owner's hand". They've been around since Day One with cards like , allowing you to temporarily get rid of a threat at a low cost, or even to save one of your own creatures from a sticky situation. But the wording is very specific- "target creature". Whenever an effect refers to a card type like that, with just the type, there's a sort of invisible word

Read more.