Good morning and welcome back! Today we'll be talking about a new card from Guilds of Ravnica, and the interesting kind of ability it has. Hypothesizzle lets you draw 2 cards, and if you want to, discard a nonland card to dome a creature for 4 damage. Basically, it lets you pick a 'dead' nonland card in your hand and turn it into a Flame Slash for free. But wait- what's that "When you do" wording in there? Normally, a card like this would say "IF you do" after the discard part, right? Why the different wording?
Izzet week continues with a look into Expansion // Explosion!
Hello and welcome back to the one, the only, Rules Tips Blog! It's been a hot-and-spicy minute since we've had any Rules Tips for you folks, but we're back on track and hitting the ground running with Izzet Week- all your Rules Tips this week will involve cards from the bombastic and eccentric chemisters from the Izzet League (specifically, new cards from Guilds of Ravnica). To start with, we'll be talking about Ionize.
EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set's release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect (such as Kalitas' effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas' ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or ability, Procession will still apply. The original post below will remain for posterity, but it is no longer applicable. Buckle up, because today's
Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! Today is going to be a bit of a Tournament Tip as well as a Rules Tip- we'll be going over an entirely new kind of trigger, introduced in Amonkhet. has a neat trigger- when it enters the battlefield, you can sacrifice another creature to have the Manticore deal damage to a target creature or player- basically, it's in Manticore form. What's odd about it, though, is the wording- in the past, something like this would say "IF you do" (referring to saccing another
And welcome back! Amonkhet gave us back an old favorite ability in Cycling, letting you discard cards you don't currently need to dig for cards you do. On top of that, there's cards that synergize well with it, like letting you cycle for free if you have a hand of 7 cards, or letting you pay a little extra for a 2/2 Drake on top of your cycling. But, you may notice that Drake Haven triggers whenever you cycle OR discard a card- so does it trigger twice, once for the activation of Cycling, and once
Welcome back! Today we're going over a nifty new mythic: . What does it do? Well, it ends the turn! Unlike the last few effects to do this (namely and ), this can be done during someone else's turn, if you'd like. It can be used as a pseudo-counterspell or Stifle, since ending the turn exiles everything currently on the stack, which is the primary use Sundial had (you can even use it during your End Step to stop "at the beginning of the next end step" triggers dead in their tracks!). But because
Many people rejoiced when they saw in the Amonkhet spoilers, as a way to deal with pesky little things like , and to deal with the new threat of Embalm creatures- as the flavor text says, you can't embalm ashes, after all. Magma Spray does 2 damage to a target creature, and exiles it if it would die this turn. The majority of the time, Magma Spray will be aimed at a creature it kills- like the Scrounger, or a , so it's pretty simple. Shock your guy, exile it instead of graveyard. But what happens
Welcome back! Today's topic will be the new card, and how she works. On the surface, pretty simply: Whenever you put some -1/-1 counters on a creature, you get a 1/1 deathtouching Snake as a bonus. That's fairly simple with effects like or , which are effects that you control telling you "Hey, put a counter on that thing". That'll trigger Hapatra and grow your Ophiological family. You also only get one Snake per creature you're shrinking; if you were to put 10 -1/-1 counters on a single creature,