Welcome to this week's installment of Tournament Tuesday! Today’s topic: Triggers! Handling triggers and rules involving triggers have changed throughout the years so it’s important we all stay on the same page. Let’s use as an example, since it gives an opponent’s creature a detrimental trigger. effectively imprints its text on to the creature it enchants. Since the creature is controlled by the opponent, so is the trigger. This means if the trigger is missed, the player controlling that
Welcome to a special SECOND daily post for this special week! Today we'll be going over Missed Triggers again (especially focusing on the ones in Modern Masters 2015), so hopefully those of you headed to the Grands Prix this weekend will know what to be on the lookout for. As we've covered before, Missed Triggers are handled differently at Regular and Competitive/Professional RELs. At Regular (FNM, Game Day, Prereleases, casual pick-up drafts, etc), the Judge will decide to either let you have your
Welcome back to Tournament Tuesday, where we're going to cover our favorite topic again: Missed Triggers! Today's missed trigger discussion is going to be about an uncommon creature from Magic 2015, originally printed in Magic 2013: . Primadox has a trigger that makes you bounce a creature you control to its owner's hand at the beginning of your upkeep. Perhaps this is because it's fairly aggressively costed as a 4/4 for 4- but it mostly gets used to repeatedly enjoy the ETB triggers of fun creatures
Wrapping up our series on missed triggers, we cover the triggers that don't have an immediate impact on the visible game state.
Welcome to our special Christmas Eve edition of Tournament Tuesday, and possibly the most festive entry in our Missed Trigger series! Today we'll be going over another type of trigger and how the Missed Trigger rules work with that type: triggers that change the rules of the game. What kind of trigger would change the actual rules, you might ask? The go-to example is . This little fuzzball from Dark Ascension changes the rules with his trigger- once that trigger resolves, your opponent can't block
Continuing our series on Comp REL triggers, we cover how to tell when someone has missed a trigger with a visible impact on the game state or that requires a choice on resolution.
We're running a series of Comp REL trigger tips, regarding when they would be considered missed. Today covers those that have a target or mode.
Sometimes there are times where we make mistakes, that's why there are judges around to help. As soon as you notice a mistake, you are to call a judge over; they are trained in fixing mistakes that might have been made. However, when the time comes, you can't ignore your opponent's mistakes. Doing so is Cheating, since you are knowingly breaking rules (or allowing for the rules to be broken). And you know what Cheating is... well, it earns the two letters players hate the most: DQ. Unless
Welcome back, everyone. Over the course of the next few weeks, we're going to be going over the Judging at Regular REL document. This is the document that judges use at regular REL events, like Friday Night Magic and Prerelease events. If you want to read it for yourself, you can find it here. Don't worry, it's not that long of a document (it's only two pages). Today, we're going to be looking at someone who has forgotten one of their triggers. This is probably one of the most common mistakes
As expected, Modern Masters has created quite a stir, and we're looking at GP Las Vegas in just a couple of weeks, where Modern Masters sealed will be the format. On top of that, there's plenty of people drafting their MM boxes right now, and a lot of people looking to get into the format to see what all the fuss is about. One card you're very likely to see a lot of in this format is , Bob Maher's invitational card. It can hurt you a ton, but in a properly built deck it's just a great value engine.