It is impossible for effects that last until the end of turn or are applied during ‘this’ turn to carry over into another turn. Continuous effects like these will end in the cleanup step of the turn in which they were created. (It is possible in some situations for a continuous effect like this to […]
When multiple objects enter the battlefield…
When multiple permanents enter the battlefield at the same time the game will check all permanents in play, including those that just entered the battlefield, to see if any relevant enters-the-battlefield abilities triggered. For example; if and an were to enter the battlefield under your control at the same time, the Archon’s ability will trigger […]
There is always a combat phase
Unless an effect has caused a player to skip the combat phase, there is always a combat phase in a turn. This is true even if no creatures are declared as attacking.
How Trample works:
When assigning and dealing combat damage from an attacking creature with Trample, its controller must assign what would be lethal damage to all blocking creatures. Any damage in excess of this can then be assigned to the defending player. For example, if an attacking is blocked by two s, when the combat damage step begins […]
Most tapped artifacts do not ‘turn off.’
When Magic was first created, tapped artifacts ‘turned off’ and their static abilities did not apply. This was obviously changed a long time ago when the 6th Edition were released. Now there are only a few artifacts whose effects ‘turn off’ when they are tapped, but they explicitly say so in their rules text. Some […]
Spells resolve in the order written.
When resolving a spell or ability you need to follow the instructions in the order written. This matters for some spells like the from Lorwyn. If you choose the second and third modes and target a noncreature permanent owned by the targeted player, then that player will put the targeted card on top of his […]
If you have a doubt or disagree with a ruling, appeal.
In a tournament, as long as a ruling given to you is not from the head judge, you have the option of appealing to the head judge. When you do, make sure that you allow the initial responding judge to give his ruling first and that you appeal in a respectful manner.
Lands lose existing subtypes when the land has its subtype changed.
When a land has it’s subtype changed into a basic land type it will lose all of its text and will gain the text the appropriate mana ability. This does not happen with effects (like ’s) that grant lands an additional basic land subtype.
Creature spells never target.
Many creature cards have triggered abilities that do something when the creature enters the battlefield. And many of these abilities do target. However you do not choose a target when you cast the creature spell. The target(s) for these types of triggered abilities are chosen when the creature enters the battlefield and the triggered ability […]