Abundant Growth gives the land an extra ability, but doesn’t let it produce extra mana.

Green is never short of mana fixing when new sets are released, and Innistrad block hasn’t been the exception. When Innistrad came out, we had Caravan Vigil, then we got Dawntreader Elk in Dark Ascension. One of the cards that accomplishes this role in Avacyn Restored is Abundant Growth. It only costs one mana, fixes your manabase, and it lets you draw a card! Pretty good, huh?

But there’s a catch. Abundant Growth does not generate extra mana from your lands like Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger would; the added ability of the enchanted land allows its controller to add one mana of any color to his or her mana pool, but nothing else.

Let’s say you go turn 1 Forest, and you cast Abundant Growth. If it resolves, your Forest would have 2 abilities: one that lets you tap it for one green mana, and one that allows you to add one mana of any color. You can choose to activate either of these abilities, but you cannot use them simultaneously because each one requires you to tap the land to activate it, and like so many other things in life, you generally can’t pay for one thing and get two!

Today’s Rules Tip written by
Jorge Pinto, Level 1 judge from Santiago, Chile

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share