Cathars’ Crusade triggers multiple times if multiple creatures enter at the same time.

Cathars’ Crusade has an ability that triggers “whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control.” Normally, this will be one creature entering the battlefield as a result of the creature spell resolving – “a creature.” However, some spells and abilities can cause multiple creatures to enter the battlefield at the same time. In this case, “a creature” refers to each individual creature separately, so Cathars’ Crusade will trigger that many separate times.

For example, let’s say that you control Cathars’ Crusade and you cast Gather the Townsfolk. Two Human creature tokens will enter the battlefield, and Cathars’ Crusade will trigger twice. Then, you’ll put both triggered abilities onto the stack, and each one gives both your Humans (and any other creatures you might control) a +1/+1 counter when it resolves, resulting in a pair of 3/3s. Now suppose you’ve got fateful hour active… That’s a grand total of five Cathars’ Crusade triggers, leaving you with five 6/6 human tokens!

Today’s Rules Tip written by
Jen Wong, Level 1 judge from Irvine, CA

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share