The Gatecrash Guildmage cycle: Part 2

Duskmantle Guildmage
Duskmantle Guildmage’s 1st ability functions the same as Vizkopa Guildmage’s 2nd ability, as far as multiple activations are concerned. Since they set up a delayed trigger, each will resolve individually. Do note that it says Card, so once again, tokens won’t work, and it says from anywhere, not just the library or battlefield. Get inventive!

Its 2nd ability is pretty self-explanatory.

Zameck Guildmage
Zameck Guildmage is pretty easy to understand once you get used to it. Its 1st ability modifies how a creature enters the battlefield: “With an additional +1/+1 counter on it.”

Now, the word “additional” throws some people off (they think it means “if it was going to get a +1/+1 counter, add another one onto it”… THAT’S WRONG). The templating guys couldn’t say “Enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it”, because while it would function exactly the same way, it would confuse more players that way. People might think, “then Triskelion would be sad because he would be tiny with this replacement effect!” (which would also be wrong).

This ability basically says “This turn, your dudes who enter the battlefield are one bigger. Rawr.” (the templating team would also then be fired). This bonus is not dependent on any of their other characteristics. They’ll get the +1/+1 counters no matter what types of creatures they are. (Yes you too, Force of Savagery!)

In terms of X amounts of activation, there will be X times it’ll modify how a creature enters the battlefield, and since they all say “additional +1/+1 counter”, the creature that comes into play will have X additional +1/+1 counters.

Now, the second ability, you CAN activate it multiple times, but don’t think you can cheat the amount of counters you remove! Since the “remove a +1/+1 counter” clause is on the LEFT side of the colon (and therefore part of the cost), in order to even put that ability on the stack, you have to remove the counter as a cost. So you can’t draw 3 cards off of the same counter if you have a lot of mana.

Today’s Rules Tip written by Eddie Cheung

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share