Cube week! Mishra’s Factory can block Daxos, then pump itself.

Happy New Year! We’re starting off the year with a week about some interesting interactions from the MTGO Cube.

Daxos has an ability that says “Daxos of Meletis can’t be blocked by creatures with power 3 or greater.” This means a creature that has power 3 or more at the moment blockers are declared can’t be chosen as a blocker for Daxos. However, once blockers are declared, changing the blocker’s power won’t somehow reverse the block or make it illegal, since the legality of the block was already checked and verified when it was made.

So don’t expect to trade your Daxos for your opponent’s Mishra’s Factory unless it was just played last turn! A player can animate, declare the block with the 2/2 Factory, then activate the pump ability before damage… and a 3/3 beats a 2/2 pretty easily once combat damage rolls around.

Today’s Rules Tip written by Josh Stansfield

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share