Tournament Tuesday: Pillory of The Sleepless

Welcome to this week’s installment of Tournament Tuesday! Today’s topic: Triggers! Handling triggers and rules involving triggers have changed throughout the years so it’s important we all stay on the same page. Let’s use Pillory of the Sleepless as an example, since it gives an opponent’s creature a detrimental trigger. Pillory of the Sleepless effectively imprints its text on to the creature it enchants. Since the creature is controlled by the opponent, so is the trigger. This means if the trigger is missed, the player controlling that creature is responsible for it- not you. The burden lies 100% with your opponent to remember the trigger- and you can happily remind them if they forget it, because you probably want them to be losing life! Additionally, in Competitive REL and higher, that player will get a Warning for missing that trigger. Should that player admit to intentionally missing the trigger, it’s considered cheating and the penalties become much worse.
Triggers can get complicated since they are invisible and have to be remembered by the players. The best players will leave reminders or write them down as they play to prevent forgetting. Hope you learned something today; see you tomorrow!

Today’s Tournament Tip was written by Daniel Clarke

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share