Fumigate and Kalitas

Yesterday, we talked a bit about Kalitas (and it was somewhat complicated!), and we're still talking about that Zombie-making Vampire everyone loves, but it'll be a bit simpler. blasts the board like many other Wraths, and gains you some life for everything it destroys- but what, specifically, does that mean? It has to actually destroy a creature to gain you some life (so it won't gain you any life for the Amonkhet gods, since they're Indestructible), but that creature doesn't have to end up in

Read more.

Tournament Tuesday: Kalitas and Anointed Procession

EDIT: With the release of Ixalan, the rules regarding this interaction have changed. As of that set's release, effects like Anointed Procession will also apply if a replacement effect  (such as Kalitas' effect) is creating tokens, no matter why. Even if Kalitas' ability is replacing a state-based action rather than the effect of a spell or ability, Procession will still apply. The original post below will remain for posterity, but it is no longer applicable. Buckle up, because today's

Read more.

Kalitas Week: Kalitas vs Tokens

Welcome to the last day of our Kalitas Week! This last tip is actually pretty quick-and-simple, and similar to the Anafenza situation: Kalitas simply doesn't work on tokens! Kalitas specifically calls out "nontoken" (Anafenza doesn't say it SPECIFICALLY- her ability only works on cards, and by definition that excludes tokens, which are not cards). Tokens do still "die" with a Kalitas out (so they'll trigger or other cards that trigger on creatures dying), and they won't give Kalitas' controller

Read more.

Kalitas Week: Kalitas and Board Wipes

Welcome to Day Four of Kalitas Week! Today we're covering a pretty simple one rules-wise: How Kalitas interacts with a board-wipe like or . The core question people have in this situation is "do I get zombies? Do they come in and then die too, or do I just not get any?". The answer is: yes, you get Zombies, and no they don't die! The reason you GET the zombies is because a replacement effect (like Kalitas) has to exist immediately before the event it wants to replace (this is why Clone can't copy

Read more.

Kalitas Week: Kalitas vs Anafenza

Welcome back to Kalitas Week! Today we'll be looking at another interaction you're likely to run into: Kalitas vs. other replacement effects. The most common two that you're likely to find in Standard are going to be and ; both of those cards are also going to replace the "dies" event with exile. The question is, which effect 'wins'? Does it matter whose turn it is, or who controls which effect? The answer is... no! If you ever have more than one replacement effect wanting to apply to the same

Read more.

Kalitas Week: Kalitas Is Not Optional!

Welcome back to Kalitas Week here on the Rules Blog! Today we're covering another common misconception about the chief: what, exactly, his second ability IS. A lot of people seem to mistakenly think that Kalitas' ability is a trigger, and subject to the Missed Trigger rules. However, it is not! A trigger will have the words "When", "Whenever", or "At" on it, and Kalitas lacks all those words. What Kalitas has is a static ability, which creates a replacement effect: it replaces one event with another

Read more.

Kalitas Week! Who Gets The Tokens?

Good morning and welcome to Kalitas Week here at the Rules Tip Blog. We've been noticing an awful lot of questions about the new popping up, so we thought we'd take a whole week to address just questions about Kalitas. Kalitas' has an ability that sets up a replacement effect: it replaces one event (in this case, "a nontoken creature your opponent controls dies") with a different event ("exile it, make a Zombie"). Because of this replacement effect, the 'dies' event flat out does not happen, at

Read more.