You can’t respond to Tombstalker’s Delve ability

Delve is an ability that was (so far) only printed in Future Sight, and as such most players aren’t very familiar with it. Here’s the relevant rules text for “Delve”: “As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may exile any number of cards from your graveyard. Each card exiled this way reduces the […]

Read more.

You can respond to Stoneforge, Aether Vial or Miracle with Vendilion Clique

One of the strengths of is its versatility: you can surprise block an unsuspecting creature, cycle away a card in your hand, or take a peek at what your opponent is up to. Indeed, because it has flash, you can even cast it in response to an opponent’s activated or triggered ability. This is good […]

Read more.

Craterhoof Behemoth’s ability checks how many creatures you control as it resolves.

, like Santa Claus, just loves handing out presents to all the good little boy and girl…creatures (though in Hoofie’s case, the presents are in the form of plusses and trample). But how many presents does each creature get? Unlike a spell, the value of X isn’t locked in when a triggered ability goes onto […]

Read more.

Triumph of Ferocity’s “if” is not intervening, but it still checks at resolution.

RAWR! Looking at exhibit A, , it has one and only one responsibility: to trigger on your upkeep. Now, this triggered ability will trigger on each of your upkeeps no matter what the situation: if the board’s empty, if your opponent controls a creature bigger than yours, or if your opponent has a billion creatures […]

Read more.