Altered Ego only gets counters if it copies something.

Hello again, welcome back to the Rules Tips Blog! Don’t you hate it when you cast a card thinking that it's going to do something and then when it resolves it actually does the opposite of what you want? You might even say that its ego had been altered. That is exactly what you will get if you cast Altered Ego without a creature to copy- no matter how much you pay for X. Reading the card carefully, you will find that it has to have a creature to copy to get the counters. IF you don't, you don't

Read more.