All about Lion’s Eye Diamond (yes, it’s a mana ability, but it has a timing restriction)

So is kind of a weird card. Let's start things off by looking at its current Gatherer text: Sacrifice Lion's Eye Diamond, Discard your hand: Add three mana of any one color to your mana pool. Activate this ability only any time you could cast an instant. So the main difference between the printed version of the Diamond and its current official text is that line at the end that says you can only activate the ability any time you could cast an instant. What does that mean? Normally, if you're

Read more.