Tournament Tuesday: How To Handle a Missed Roaring Primadox Trigger

Welcome back to Tournament Tuesday, where we're going to cover our favorite topic again: Missed Triggers! Today's missed trigger discussion is going to be about an uncommon creature from Magic 2015, originally printed in Magic 2013: . Primadox has a trigger that makes you bounce a creature you control to its owner's hand at the beginning of your upkeep. Perhaps this is because it's fairly aggressively costed as a 4/4 for 4- but it mostly gets used to repeatedly enjoy the ETB triggers of fun creatures

Read more.

Roaring Primadox’s ability doesn’t target anything.

Probably one of the most-misused words in Magic has to be ʺtarget.ʺ Despite how often people seem to be confused, it's actually quite simple: a spell or ability only has a target if the word ʺtargetʺ is included somewhere in its rules text (or in the comprehensive rules text for certain keyword abilities, such as 'enchant' if it's an Aura spell or 'equip' for equipment). Take a look at . Its ability doesn't include the word ʺtargetʺ, so it doesn't target anything. Shortest Rules Tips blog

Read more.