Vorel of the Hull Clade doubles all counters on a permanent.

Ah, Vorel of the Hull Clade. There isn’t a counter he can’t double, you know. At first glance, he looks a lot like the proliferate mechanic from Scars of Mirrodin, which allowed you to choose any number of permanents and/or players that already had counters, and then give each of those permanents and/or players exactly one additional counter of a type they already had.

However, Vorel is actually quite different from proliferate. For one thing, he targets a specific artifact, creature, or land. Also unlike proliferate, he can’t affect players, which is a bit of a bummer. However, in exchange for these drawbacks, you don’t have to pick just one type of counter to double. Rather, Vorel will double every type of counter. +1/+1 counters? Doubled. -1/-1 counters? Doubled. Loyalty? Yep, that works (but only if you can turn your planeswalker into a creature). Even things like petrification counters and filibuster counters are fair game, as long as the target is an artifact, creature, or land.

Today’s Rules Tip written by Paul Baranay

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share