Meandering Turtle and Act of Treason

You have cast that Act of Treason and you have taken your opponent’s Meandering Towershell. You attack with it, triggering the second ability, and the turtle is exiled… Now what?

Who gets control of the turtle when it comes back into play?

Well lets start by looking to the wording of the Meandering Towershell’s second ability:

Whenever Meandering Towershell attacks, exile it. Return it to the battlefield under your control tapped and attacking at the beginning of the declare attackers step on your next turn.

The key words in this ability are “your control”. This means that when the turtle returns to the battlefield on your next turn, it is under your control, not theirs, because you controlled the trigger.

What does this mean about the turtle on future turns? Does it ever return to them?

Well as the turtle is effectively a new card when it returns to the battlefield, it is yours as long as it remains of the battlefield or is put into exile with its second ability and then returned.

This makes a very sad opponent and a very happy you!

Today’s Rules Tip written by Angela Schabauer

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share