Courser of Kruphix and Scrying

Welcome back! For those of you just tuning in, we’re covering lots of things to do with Courser of Kruphix this week! The Theros block gave us back an old Mirrodin mechanic in Scry. It also gave us Courser- so it’s not uncommon to be Scrying while there’s a Courser on board. SO when that happens, what do you do? It’s actually really simple. You’re looking at the top N cards (top 1, top 2, top whatever), but even as you move them around and make your decision, the game sees them as not having changed. Sure, they’re moving PHYSICALLY in your hands as you choose, but the game doesn’t know that, or care! The “top card” doesn’t change until you’re done Scrying. Once you have fully completed the scry and finalized the position of all the cards, that’s when you reveal the new top card. So, say you Scry and you see a Forest, an Island, and a Polukranos, World Eater. You decide you’re fine on blue, but Polly and the Forest seem great! So, you ship the Island to the bottom, and put Polukranos on top with the Forest below it. Your opponent has no way of knowing where the Forest went- maybe you shipped it to the bottom, maybe it’s underneath Polukranos. But they won’t know, because the top card doesn’t change DURING the Scry- it only changes at the moment that the Scry finishes!

Tomorrow we’ll cover something a little similar- see you then!

Today’s Rules Tip written by Trevor Nunez

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share