Exploit week: Responding by killing the creature with exploit.

This week, we’re going to go into detail about one of the more confusing and asked-about abilities from Dragons of Tarkir: Exploit.

Eploit is a triggered ability some creatures have. It means “When this creature enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice a creature.” A creature with exploit will also have a totally separate triggered ability that is connected to the exploit ability on that specific creature, and it triggers when a creature is sacrificed to that exploit trigger. Knowing that these triggers are linked, yet still totally independent, is important to understand how best to respond to an exploit trigger.

Today we’ll answer the question of “What happens if I kill the creature with exploit before they sacrifice a creature? Will they still get the trigger?”

As an example, we’ll use Sidisi, Undead Vizier. Your opponent casts Sidisi, and exploit triggers. You have Ultimate Price in your hand. When do you cast it?

In this situation, you probably want to cast it right away. If you kill Sidisi in response to the exploit trigger, then when exploit resolves, there’s no ability around to trigger from sacrificing a creature to that trigger. Of course, the opponent will then choose not to sacrifice anything. Remember that the choice of whether to sacrifice a creature and which creature to sacrifice isn’t made until exploit resolves. You can’t have it both ways!

Today’s Rules Tip written by Josh Stansfield

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share