Traverse the Ulvenwald can find a nonbasic land if you have Delirium.

Hi everyone, and welcome back to another week of rules tips here at the Magic Rules Tips Blog! Shadows Over Innistrad continues to bring lots of new topics to discuss. Today, we’re going to discuss Traverse the Ulvenwald.

Traverse the Ulvenwald, in its basic form, lets you search your library for a basic land and put it into your hand. But because this is Innistrad, things get a little better if you manage to fill up your graveyard. If you happen to have four or more different card types among the cards in your graveyard, you don’t get to search for a basic land – instead, you get to search for any land or a creature card to put into your hand. The land no longer has to be a basic land — it can be any land card in your library. Note that if you have delirium, the second part completely replaces the first part – you’re searching for just a land or creature card, not a land or creature card plus a basic land.

But don’t forget that Traverse the Ulvenwald is still on the stack as it resolves, so it doesn’t count as a sorcery card in your graveyard when considering whether you have delirium!

That’s all I have for today. We’ll see you all again tomorrow!

Today’s Rules Tip written by Nathan Long

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share