Brisela and Commander

Welcome back to the Rules Tip Blog! Today we’ll be covering Commander and Meld cards (mostly Bruna, the Fading Light and Gisela, the Broken Blade)! The first bit is the most common question we’ve heard about Brisela, Voice of Nightmares since the spoiling: What if one of her constituent parts is my Commander? For example, what if Bruna or Gisela are your Commander, and you run the other half in your 99? Well, it’s very likely you’ll end up Melding them, and the combined Brisela will ‘count’ as your Commander for the purposes of Commander Damage, or for cards like Angelic Field Marshal and Bastion protector. If your Melded Commander is destroyed or exiled or any of the other zone-changes, and you elect to put it in the Command Zone instead, only the half that’s “normally” your Commander goes there. Say you’re using Bruna as your Commander, and someone tosses a Wrecking Ball at your Brisela. You can put Bruna in your Command Zone, but Gisela isn’t your Commander once she’s split off from Bruna, so she goes to the graveyard as normal. If you choose to not send Bruna to the Command Zone, she goes to whatever zone she SHOULD with Gisela. For things like Unexpectedly Absent, you’ll get to choose which order your Angels are placed in the library, but you needn’t reveal that order!

Finally, a quick reminder: to successfully Meld two cards, they have to be the actual cards (I wouldn’t advise Clone and friends; the Meld will fire off, but since you don’t have the right cards in exile, they stay there instead of coming back!), and you have to both own and control them. You can’t steal your opponent’s Bruna and meld it with your Gisela!

Today’s Rules Tip was written by Trevor Nunez

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share