Peema Aether-Seer – How to benefit from “blocks if able” (and how you can’t)

Hi everyone, and welcome back. Today, we’re going to talk about Peema Aether-Seer, and some good (and some bad) things that you can do when using her activated ability.

Peema has an activated ability that forces a target creature to block this turn if able. It’s only able to block if it could block. For instance, targeting a tapped creature is fairly pointless, since a tapped creature can’t block. Likewise, if you use the ability on a creature without flying or reach, then attack with a creature with flying, since their creature can’t block your flyer, it’s not forced to block.

Also, the Seer’s ability doesn’t specify what it must block, just that it has to block. If you use the Seer’s ability on their 2/2 creature and then you attack with a 3/3 and a 1/1, the 2/2 has to block, but they get to choose which attacking creature to block, so they can choose for the 2/2 to block your 1/1 (killing the 1/1), rather than being forced to block your 3/3 (and killing their 2/2). If you want to ensure that your opponent’s 2/2 will die in combat, then you should only attack with your 3/3 creature, not your 1/1 creature.

However, there are some advantages that can be had. For instance, let’s say you have a Wayward Giant and your opponent has two 2/2s that you’d like to block, but you only have enough mana to activate Peema’s ability once. What can you do? Well, you can activate it once, targeting one of the 2/2s, and then attack with the Giant. Since the Giant has menace, it must be blocked by at least two creatures. And because of Peema’s ability, the targeted 2/2 has to block if able. And since it has to block, and because the Giant has to be blocked by at least two creature, your opponent will be forced to block with both of their 2/2 creature, and the Giant will be able to kill them both.
Well, that’s all we have for today. We’ll see you again tomorrow!

Today’s Rules Tip written by Nathan Long

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share