Welcome back to Kalitas Week! Today we'll be looking at another interaction you're likely to run into: Kalitas vs. other replacement effects. The most common two that you're likely to find in Standard are going to be and ; both of those cards are also going to replace the "dies" event with exile. The question is, which effect 'wins'? Does it matter whose turn it is, or who controls which effect? The answer is... no! If you ever have more than one replacement effect wanting to apply to the same
Anafenza, the Foremost causes much confusion among players and judges alike, so Nathan Long delves into all the common interactions that involve her in this linked article. Learn and enjoy!
And we're back! It's Friday, so let's get one last tip out there before we all head out to our local FNMs tonight. Let's talk about our favorite deadly, can't stay dead dinosaur, . It's hard to keep a good Lizard Beast down, and as long as you can keep playing morphs and turning them face up, can keep coming back, even if it dies. But even Raptors have an enemy that can even stop their saurian shenanigans, and on Tarkir that creature is (not the Anafenza from Dragons of Tarkir. Apparently,
A token is never a card, and vice versa. Anafenza's replacement effect only applies to actual cards, so it doesn't interfere with tokens hitting the graveyard normally.