Fiendslayer Paladin vs. Boros Reckoner (the Paladin isn’t safe)

A reddit user posted a question about Fiendslayer vs. Reckoner, believing that the Reckoner could indeed target the Paladin with its triggered ability, while the opponent disagreed. Who was right? Well, let's look at the Paladin's ability: "Fiendslayer Paladin can't be the target of black or red spells your opponents control." That seems simple enough. The opponent controls the Reckoner, and it's a red card, right? Well, it is a red card (and a white card), but to be a spell it has to be on the

Read more.

Boros Reckoner can’t kill a beast token from the Thragtusk it blocked.

“Judge, I blocked my opponent’s Thragtusk with Boros Reckoner. After they kill each other, is there a way I can use Reckoner’s trigger to kill the Beast token, too?” Your opponent may be protesting at this point “judges can’t give strategic advice!” but it turns out that according to the rules, there’s only one legal answer to this question. So let’s walk through it. When the combat damage step begins, and deal lethal damage to each other. The Reckoner’s ability triggers

Read more.