You are the HJ of a Sealed PPTQ. Axl is playing with Norman. Axl is taking a mulligan to 4 while Norman kept his 7. Axl draws 4 and says “Keep, gonna Scry” and looks at 3 cards. Norman asks him what is he doing and Axl answers “I Scry 3, one for each mulligan … right?”. Norman calls you after telling him that's not how he should Scry after taking mulligans. When you get to the table, they explain what's happened and Axl apologizes because it's his first tournament. What do you
You're the head and only judge at a limited GPT. Amy is playing against Neil, and controls and . As Amy is about to enter her combat phase, Neil casts on her , placing the spell sideways beside his graveyard. Amy thinks for a bit and decides not to attack with her Surrak and passes the turn. Neil draws for his turn and proceeds to attack with his . As Amy is about to block, Neil realizes his is still in exile, and calls you over. What do you do? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario
You find out you are the head judge of the Dragon's Maze prerelease at your local store, problem is, you've never given head judge announcements before! What are some of the things we want to include or avoid when doing HJ announcements at Regular REL? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario here!
Ansel and Nicodemus are playing a match in a Pro Tour Qualifier. Ansel wins game 2 of the match, picks up the result slip, and starts to fill it out as a 2-0 win. Nicodemus interrupts and says, “You didn't win game 1 – I did!” Ansel says “No, I'm pretty sure I won game 1.” Unable to come to an agreement on how game 1 finished, they call a judge. Once they've explained the situation to you, what are your next steps? What might you do to come to a ruling? Judges, feel free to discuss
Your local game store is running a Sealed GPT next weekend, and they call you up. You're flying to a Grand Prix out of the state that weekend, so you'll have to delegate this event to another judge. Problem is, after searching high and low, the only available judge is a recently certified Level 1 who has never worked at Competitive REL. You know the tournament organizer will be scorekeeping for the event. What can you do to make sure the judge is prepared to run a Sealed GPT, and has a way to
You are playing a Competitive REL Legacy event and, after you have finished your match, Anthony comes to you to ask you a question about a ruling he just received: He was solving a mulligan and drew again 7 cards and looked at them. Both players immediately realized the mistake and called Marcus, the only judge in the event who is a L1 judge with little experience. Marcus gave Anthony a Game Loss for Game Play Error- Drawing Extra Cards while the right infraction/penalty should have been a Warning
Adam is playing Nolan in a Legacy Grand Prix, Day 1. At the end of Adam's turn, Nolan casts , searches for a card and places it on top of his library forgetting to reveal it. On Nolan's turn, he draws his card and Adam realizes that Nolan did not reveal properly for . Nolan currently has 3 cards in hand and shows you a , and a . What is the appropriate Infraction, Penalty and Fix? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario here!
You are the Head Judge of a Modern GPT. In his precombat main phase, Anthemius casts on Numerian's , which he puts into his otherwise empty graveyard. Anthemius now animates his and attacks with it and some creatures. Post combat, Anthemius casts and resolves , draws 2 cards, then casts , putting a card from Numerian's hand onto the bottom of his library. Numerian untaps, draws a card, then activates his by exiling from his graveyard. Numerian puts a 1/1 Spirit token onto the battlefield,
At a Limited-format Pro Tour Qualifier, after the initial pool registration and swap, the Head Judge instructs players that they have 30 minutes to build and register their decks. Players are told to hand in their decklist to a judge once they have completed this process. During round 1, judges count all of the decklists, and then check them against the master list of enrolled players. They find that they do not have a decklist for one player; when a judge approaches that player and asks if he
Darth Vader is enrolled in a Legacy Competitive REL event. During his turn, Nute Gunray casts a , but Anakin denies him that by casting a for its alternative cost: He exiles . In his own turn, Anakin casts and announces that he wants to activate its ability. When Nute and Anakin reach for their pens to adjust life totals, they realize that they both forgot to subtract 1 life for the . Anakin now is at 8 life points, but they both agree he should have been at 7. They call a Judge. You quickly