Using the planeswalker uniqueness rule for profit.

With the release of Magic 2014 over the summer, we had a few rules changes. One of them applied to planeswalkers. Now, if you have a second planeswalker with a particular planeswalker subtype under your control, you get to choose one to keep and the other will go to the graveyard. This interaction can lead to some new interactions that you may not have considered.

For example, let’s say I have a Liliana of the Veil with 4 counters on the battlefield, and another one in my hand. I desperately need to get rid of both of your creatures. Under the old rules, I could activate Liliana’s second ability, causing you to sacrifice one of your creatures, then play my second Liliana, and then look very sad as both of them go to the graveyard.

But with the new planeswalker rule, I have a different option. I can play the ability of the Liliana on the battlefield, causing you to sacrifice one of your creatures. Then I can play the second Liliana. Once it enters the battlefield, I can choose to keep the new Liliana and let the other Liliana go to the graveyard. Since I haven’t played a loyalty ability of the new Liliana yet, I’m free to activate the second ability of the new Liliana, so I can activate that one and make you sacrifice a second creature.

Hopefully, this gives you some new ideas for fun things you can do with your planeswalkers!

Today’s Rules Tip written by Nathan Long

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share