Lunar Force: Bad In Multiples!

There’s been a neat enchantment heavy deck kicking around, making use of Lunar Force, the ‘new and improved’ version of old favorite Standstill. Lunar Force is pretty simple to decipher- it’s like a counterspell you don’t have control over, but that you pay for in advance, freeing you up to do other things while hiding behind it! What happens if you want to counter a few spells, though? You’ve got a spare pile of Islands off to the side, so you decide to play a second copy- bad idea! Lunar Force triggers anytime an opponent casts a spell, pops itself, and counters the spell that triggered it. The problem is, it’s not going to check to see if something else already took care of it. If you have two or three Lunar Forces and your opponent casts a spell, all three will trigger. The first trigger to resolve will counter the spell, but the other two don’t care; they’ll still resolve and make you sacrifice your other Forces, for no gain! So if you have a spare Force in your hand, just wait until the first one gets popped before you drop a second.

Today’s Rules Tip was written by Trevor Nunez

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share