Wild Ricochet + Rakdos’s Return

I'm glad to see making a return to Standard; it's such a fun card, and can lead to hilarious reactions when timed right (A friend of mine once used against a , spinning two lands back to the opponent's deck and gaining 14 life). Sadly, it also can lead to some confusion! First off, Ricochet makes a copy of whatever spell you're aiming it at. The copy isn't cast (so things like won't trigger off of it), it is simply created on the stack under your control. It's YOUR spell, so you choose targets

Read more.

Ruric Thar vs. Removal Spells.

NOT GRUUL? THEN DIE! RURIC THAR COST 6 MANA. RURIC THAR BIG THREAT. RURIC THAR HAVE SPECIAL ABILITY. RURIC THAR DAMAGE YOU WHEN YOU CAST ANY SPELL NOT CREATURE. RURIC THAR DAMAGE RURIC THAR CONTROLLER TOO. RURIC THAR DAMAGE YOU ALWAYS TRIGGER FOR ALL PLAYER. RURIC THAR SEES WHEN SPELL CAST. NOT WHEN SPELL RESOLVE. YOU KILLING RURIC THAR WITH SPELL THAT IS NOT CREATURE? RURIC THAR STILL DAMAGE YOU BEFORE DIE! WE EAT! TODAY RULE TIP PAUL BARANAY WRITE EDIT: IF RURIC, RURIC NO

Read more.

Soul Ransom and Gruul Charm

Oooh, this one is fun! Control-changing effects have a habit of confusing players, especially when it comes to aura-based things like or in this case, . The mistake many players make is thinking that it's always 'on', that it always 'wins', no matter what. But that's not the case! Control-changing is a continuous effect, which means we turn to the good old Layer system to figure out disputes. The layer system exists so you know in what order to apply these continuous effects! Without going into

Read more.

You don’t have to pay for your opponent’s Soul Tithe if you control Sigarda.

If you control and your opponent enchants one of your other creatures with (obviously they can't cast Soul Tithe targeting your Sigarda thanks to hexproof), then when Soul Tithe's ability resolves it will ask, "Wanna pay this thing's converted mana cost?" At that point, you can pay if you really want to, but when you don't, it will say, "Ok, sacrifice this thing then!" However, Soul Tithe's triggered ability is controlled by the opponent who cast and still controls Soul Tithe (even though it's

Read more.

Overloading in Two Headed Giant

Overload does weird things with 2HG. Some of you at the prerelease may have noticed that. See, all of the Overload spells that you aim at other people's stuff work on everything of that sort you don't control, if Overloaded. In a normal 2 man game, or a free-for-all, that means it hits your opponents' stuff, and that's just dandy. But in a Two-Headed Giant game, things go bad. Overloading a doesn't make it hit only creatures your opponents control. It hits everything that YOU do not control.

Read more.

Vedalken Shackles only checks power vs. islands on activation and resolution (not any time after that).

is one of the key board control cards in Mono Blue Faeries (as of the time of this writing) ... but how does it work? First, when you activate it, you have to choose a target, and that target can't have power greater than the number of Islands you control at that time. Then your opponent has a chance to respond; if the creature's power becomes larger than the number of Islands you control before Vedalken Shackles's ability resolves, it'll see that it has an illegal target and be removed

Read more.

All about Captivating Vampire.

I see a fair number of questions about this card, so I thought it couldn't hurt to simply answer them all in one place! If the Vampire dies, do I lose the creatures I took control of with him? No. The effect doesn't state a duration (e.g., "as long as you control Captivating Vampire"), so it will last indefinitely (until the stolen creature leaves the battlefield or another control effect takes over). Can I tap the Captivating Vampire as one of the five vampires? Absolutely! He is indeed

Read more.

Sigarda won’t save you from sacrificing your own Phantasmal Image, even if an opponent targets it.

's ability is pretty cool. If an effect an opponent controls says "sacrifice a creature" Sigarda says, "No, I'd rather not." So she keeps you safe from things like and . But what if the opponent targets your Phantasmal Image (copying something other than Sigarda) with ? On the surface, it almost looks like the thing that's making you sacrifice it is controlled by the opponent... after all, it was their spell that triggered the ability, right? Well, yes, it was their spell that triggered the

Read more.