You don’t have to pay for your opponent’s Soul Tithe if you control Sigarda.

If you control and your opponent enchants one of your other creatures with (obviously they can't cast Soul Tithe targeting your Sigarda thanks to hexproof), then when Soul Tithe's ability resolves it will ask, "Wanna pay this thing's converted mana cost?" At that point, you can pay if you really want to, but when you don't, it will say, "Ok, sacrifice this thing then!" However, Soul Tithe's triggered ability is controlled by the opponent who cast and still controls Soul Tithe (even though it's

Read more.

Sigarda won’t save you from sacrificing your own Phantasmal Image, even if an opponent targets it.

's ability is pretty cool. If an effect an opponent controls says "sacrifice a creature" Sigarda says, "No, I'd rather not." So she keeps you safe from things like and . But what if the opponent targets your Phantasmal Image (copying something other than Sigarda) with ? On the surface, it almost looks like the thing that's making you sacrifice it is controlled by the opponent... after all, it was their spell that triggered the ability, right? Well, yes, it was their spell that triggered the

Read more.

Killing Wave is shut down by Sigarda, Host of Herons (but not by Angel of Jubilation).

and have abilities that at first glance look similar. However, they are actually quite different! When your opponent's resolves, it gives each player a choice to make for each creature that player controls: Pay X life, or don't pay anything. If you don't pay any life, Killing Wave says "sacrifice the creature." If you control Sigarda, this means you can choose not to pay any life, and then you won't have to sacrifice anything because that's simply not possible. Of course, you could still choose

Read more.