Good morning and welcome to Kalitas Week here at the Rules Tip Blog. We've been noticing an awful lot of questions about the new popping up, so we thought we'd take a whole week to address just questions about Kalitas. Kalitas' has an ability that sets up a replacement effect: it replaces one event (in this case, "a nontoken creature your opponent controls dies") with a different event ("exile it, make a Zombie"). Because of this replacement effect, the 'dies' event flat out does not happen, at
Welcome back to Commander Week! How about that card we got to spoil yesterday, huh? I'm already putting my deck together. However, today we're going to be looking into a neat little tactic: Reading your cards! Crazy, right? We'll start with an old favorite of mine, . Mangara is pretty neat- he can exile any permanent you want gone! Need to take out a before you die? Done! Need to take out a troublesome enchantment that's protecting your opponent? Poof! Even a scary land like a that's about to
Welcome to the final day of Modern Masters week! Today we'll be covering a bit of a corner case interaction, but a fun one. There's a good chunk of artifacts in this set (after all, Metalcraft is a draft archetype), and we also have anti-Robots all star . For the low, low cost of 1U, you can bounce all of target player's artifacts right to their hand! All it takes is 2 artifacts for this to be one heck of a Boomerang effect. But Recall also has a second use: getting your stuff back. There's not a
Hi everyone, and welcome back to another week of rules tips! There's still some Standard situations that come up, so that's what we're going to focus on this week. Today, we kick things off with . You're down to two cards in your hand: a and a . You figure it's time to drop your Dragonlord, so you cast it! However, to your surprise, your opponent casts on it. You cast your Scorn, thinking that you're going to outright counter their , but to your further surprise, you find out that you don't
A commander by any other name (or status) is still a commander, as far as the lieutenant abilities are concerned.
Sorin's +1 can be confusing for many people. How exactly do you determine which creatures get the bonus? Well, the creatures that will be affected are locked in at the moment the ability resolves, and that bonus simply lasts on those creatures until Sorin's controller's next turn begins.
Heart-Piercer Bow has its own triggered ability, which is controlled by the player who controls the Bow, no matter who controls the creature its attached to. This can be a little confusing with Act of Treason, so read up on that interaction here!
Meandering Towershell's trigger uses the wording "your control" which is distinctly different from "it's owner's control." That means it's pretty easy to take control of the Turtle permanently with thinks like Act of Treason!
The Abyss has a target, and the ability is always controlled by the player who controls the Abyss (even if it's not that player choosing the target). This matters when checking target legality vs. True-Name Nemesis or any hexproof creature!
So your opponent is staring you down with an active , or maybe his is online and giving you the business. Your board is fairly barren, but you've got a nice little in your hand, and you're ready to turn that threat into an answer! Well, you shouldn't. Devotion is a static ability on the five Gods we have, and it's constantly checking itself. If you take over their god with your or , the chances are low that you'll get to keep it! As soon as the God switches over to your control, it'll check