Welcome back! For today's Battle for Zendikar mechanic tip we'll be covering Converge! Converge works very similarly to the Sunburst mechanic from Fifth Dawn- the more colors of mana you sink into the spell, the stronger it gets. For Sunburst that meant charge counters and +1/+1 counters; for Converge, it just means more of everything! Normally you're "Guaranteed" a certain amount on Converge, since the spells have a colored component. For example, under most circumstances your should be a "minimum"
Even more Delve! Yesterday we learned that you can use Delve as a payment for an alternate cost such as Flashback, because Delve is a payment, not an alternate cost itself. So how does Delve interact with additional costs? Well, that depends! If there were a Delve spell with Kicker, you could use Delve to pay the colorless portion of the kicker just fine. If your opponent has out a Thalia, you can Delve away an additional card to cover her 'tax' effect (in fact, you can use tax effects to your advantage
As Magic players, we learn early on that creatures can’t tap or attack (unless they have Haste) the first turn they come under our control. There are cards, however, that can use “sick” creatures to tap, even though they just entered the battlefield. A relevant example is . Myr's ability only cares that the card in question is an artifact you control; it uses the word 'tap', rather than the tap SYMBOL. This means that we can tap any artifact to pump our Myr- Equipment, , creatures and even
While we're still talking Rebound, let's look at something it DOES work with- additional costs! As you may know, it isn't possible to pay more than one alternate cost at the same time (So you couldn't Overload a spell cast for free via Rebound, for example). What you can do, however, is pay as many additional costs as you please, and those work just fine with alternate costs. Things like kicker, entwine, and other such additional costs can absolutely be paid when you're casting a spell for free.
As you may know, Delve and Convoke's basic workings were changed with the rules updates for Magic 2014. Previously, they were simply ways to reduce costs before you paid them; nowadays, the Delving/Convoking is a payment! The only real difference, functionality-wise, is that you can no longer "over-delve" or "over-convoke"- since it's a payment, at some point you run out of colored mana cost to pay. This is, for example, why can't just eat 10 or 11 creatures to gain a whole mess of keywords, but
Outpost Siege lets you cast the exiled card, but it doesn't mandate any kind of alternative cost (such as "without paying its mana cost"). That means you can choose to pay the Dash cost for the exiled card, and it will return to your hand normally at end of turn.
Learn all there is to know about "fetch lands" in today's tip.
The Sultai brood are an opulent and decadent clan of necromancers, naga, and naga necromancers. They revere the ruthlessness of the long-gone dragons, and their symbol is a single dragon's fang. Even their dead fuel their war machine, thanks to their returning Delve mechanic, first pre-printed in Future Sight. Delve works an awful lot like Convoke: where Convoke allows your living minions to help power your big spells, Delve has your DEAD power them. When you're casting a Delve spell, you can exile
We offer a refresher course on how Convoke works.
is a quite powerful hero. There are many powerful interactions featuring this fabled feline. This week, we will be looking at a few of them in detail! To start off, Brimaz is quite strong against . Though you need to pay the cost to attack with Brimaz, Brimaz’s friend will be able to enter combat toll-free. This is because Sphere of Safety only stops creatures from being declared as attackers without paying the mana cost. If the creature is put directly onto the battlefield attacking, it didn't