How Fiend Hunter can exile something forever.

has 2 abilities (similar to his friend ): one that triggers when he enters the battlefield, and another that triggers when he leaves the battlefield. These abilities are known as linked abilities, because the second ability refers to the permanent exiled by the first. There’s a trick to exile a creature permanently using Fiend Hunter. […]

Read more.

Targets are checked for legality twice: upon casting and upon resolution.

When you cast a spell that requires a target, you have to be able to choose a legal target or you can’t cast it at all. However, that spell must still have a legal target when it resolves, or it will be countered by game rules. For example, one of the more interesting plays I […]

Read more.

You can’t kill Delver of Secrets with Gut Shot after its controller reveals an instant or sorcery.

When any spell or ability starts to resolve, you have to let it resolve completely before you can do anything. So when ‘ triggered ability resolves, the player looks at the top card and has the option of revealing it if it’s an instant or sorcery to transform Delver of Secrets. This means that you […]

Read more.

Parallel Lives doesn’t make any tokens. It causes other stuff to make extra tokens.

“If I make an Angel token with , and I have a out, why does the token made by Parallel Lives get exiled too?” Easy! Because Parallel Lives doesn’t make any tokens at all. What it does is create a replacement effect. Replacement effects do exactly what it sounds like they do: They take one […]

Read more.

The “next end step” means the very next one to begin (usually in the same turn).

is an interesting card that lets you trade a creature card in your graveyard for a temporary creature on the battlefield. The only caveat is that your new best friend (or rather your returned best friend) will only remain on the battlefield until “the beginning of the next end step.” So what does that mean? […]

Read more.

Deathtouch only works if a creature actually deals damage.

When a attacks and is blocked by , the Crusader will not die. As we discussed a few weeks ago, protection does several things, such as preventing all damage from any source it has protection from. That means that deathtouch will not apply, as damage that is prevented is not considered dealt. Now let’s say […]

Read more.