How Trinisphere works with Phyrexian Mana.

Whenever I'm asked about cost reductions/increases, especially in the flurry of questions about it thanks to a newly spoiled card from the Izzet vs. Golgari decks, a joke I like to use is ʺApply increases, then reductions, then .ʺ Trinisphere is really the only card that does what it does, and it seems to be a lot more confusing to some people at first glance than it really is. Basically, after you determine how much the spell costs thanks to the cost you elect to pay, and any additional/optional

Read more.

Sigarda won’t save you from sacrificing your own Phantasmal Image, even if an opponent targets it.

's ability is pretty cool. If an effect an opponent controls says "sacrifice a creature" Sigarda says, "No, I'd rather not." So she keeps you safe from things like and . But what if the opponent targets your Phantasmal Image (copying something other than Sigarda) with ? On the surface, it almost looks like the thing that's making you sacrifice it is controlled by the opponent... after all, it was their spell that triggered the ability, right? Well, yes, it was their spell that triggered the

Read more.

You can’t kill Delver of Secrets with Gut Shot after its controller reveals an instant or sorcery.

When any spell or ability starts to resolve, you have to let it resolve completely before you can do anything. So when ' triggered ability resolves, the player looks at the top card and has the option of revealing it if it's an instant or sorcery to transform Delver of Secrets. This means that you cannot cast on the Delver between the time your opponent reveals the card and the time it transforms into a 3/2, because those are two parts of a single ability resolving. If you want to kill that Delver,

Read more.

The extra mana you pay because of Thalia, Guardian of Thraben doesn’t count for anything else.

Simple enough: Does increase the converted mana cost ("CMC") of your spells because she makes them cost more? Easy answer: No! CMC -never- changes. The sum of all the symbols in the top right corner of a card is the CMC. The only time CMC can change is with X spells. Everywhere except the stack, X is treated as being zero. But on the stack, X is whatever you choose for it as you cast it. So in your hand, has a CMC of 1. One colored symbol + 0 from the X means a total of 1. But if you were

Read more.

Phyrexian mana in a Flashback cost can be paid with life.

has the ability to give an instant and sorcery card in your graveyard Flashback. When it does, the Flashback cost will be equal to the mana cost of the targeted card. If Snapcaster Mage's ability is used on a card with a Phyrexian mana symbol in its mana cost, then the Flashback cost will also have this Phyrexian mana cost. That mana symbol can then be paid for just as if it were cast from a player's hand--by paying mana or by paying two life. For example, if Snapcaster Mage's enters-the-battlefield

Read more.