Torpor Orb doesn’t stop Clone effects or other ʺas this entersʺ abilities.

As Scars of Mirrodin's time in Standard is coming to a close, it seems fitting to give a final hurrah to one of the most confusing cards in the block: ! This confusion can be attributed mostly to the difficulty people have in understanding the difference between triggered and static abilities, but once you know the rule, it's quite simple Triggered abilities always begin with ʺWhen,ʺ ʺWhenever,ʺ or ʺAt.ʺ Examples would be and . If an ability doesn't begin with any one of these words, it's

Read more.

How to recognize an activated ability for Havengul Lich, Necrotic Ooze or Phyrexian Revoker

A common question that seems to pop up is how to tell the difference between Activated, Triggered and Static abilities. More specifically, what abilities will gain from dead creatures, what exactly can stop, and what abilities does get after you use him to do some necromancy. There's an easy way to recognize different kinds of abilities just by reading the card itself, because the abilities are always formatted a specific way. All triggered abilities begin with the word "When", "Whenever"

Read more.