You can’t take 4 for Vexing Devil if there’s a Torpor Orb around.

is a strange and unique card. It makes things that normally happen simply not happen. So abilities that you might really want to trigger from a creature entering the battlefield... won't. It will shut down your life gain from (but doesn't stop persist) or your card draw from . But it also works the other way. Triggers you'd prefer not to happen... also won't. So you can cast a , and when it enters the battlefield, its ability will say "Oh hey, shouldn't I be doing something?" Then it will get

Read more.

Torpor Orb doesn’t stop Clone effects or other ʺas this entersʺ abilities.

As Scars of Mirrodin's time in Standard is coming to a close, it seems fitting to give a final hurrah to one of the most confusing cards in the block: ! This confusion can be attributed mostly to the difficulty people have in understanding the difference between triggered and static abilities, but once you know the rule, it's quite simple Triggered abilities always begin with ʺWhen,ʺ ʺWhenever,ʺ or ʺAt.ʺ Examples would be and . If an ability doesn't begin with any one of these words, it's

Read more.

Torpor Orb has no interaction with undying.

I hate zombies. Kill them once and they never seem to stay dead. One Zombie card that has been seeing some Standard play is , a 3/2 with undying that deals out 2 points of life loss every time it enters the battlefield. Luckily, there's a rather unique card in Standard, , that can stop these shenanigans. However, if I thought I could use Torpor Orb to stop the undying ability, I'd be sadly mistaken. Here is a list of things Torpor Orb can and cannot do in this case: Torpor Orb CANNOT prevent

Read more.

Torpor Orb’s ability prevents ALL creature entering the battlefield triggered abilities.

's ability prevents any abilities from triggering when a creatures enters the battlefield. At first look this seems to be pretty basic and straightforward, but there are a few things to be aware of. First of all, the easy part, when a creature enters the battlefield its enters the battlefield ability will not trigger. These abilities do not trigger at all, they do not trigger and then become countered. This means that you will not choose targets for the ability or anything associated with putting

Read more.