Renown and You

Welcome back Magicians, to another installment of Rules Tips. Hopefully you got the most out of the pre-release and release weekends! Now that you have had a chance to play with Origins, let’s cover some of the new rules.

Some creatures printed in Origins have a new ability called “Renown.” There are some things you’ll want to remember when using the ability. First, it only triggers when it deals combat damage to a player. This means, non-combat damage or combat damage to a creature will not put the ability on the stack. Second, Renown does not care which player is dealt damage, just that a player is dealt combat damage. Even if the creature’s damage is redirected towards you, it will still trigger. Renown can trigger multiple times, if there are multiple instances of the ability on the same card. However, Renown checks to see if the creature is already Renowned. Any instance past the first will just do nothing first resolves. The same thing would happen with a creature that has double strike and Renown. The second “normal” combat damage would not place renown on the stack as the creature would already be Renowned. You would, however, get to deal more damage during the normal combat damage step because the creature now has X number of +1/+1 counters.

If an instance of Renown is put on the stack but the creature is removed from play before it resolves, then that creature never became Renowned. Abilities that care if the creature became Renowned will not trigger. Stay tuned for tomorrow’s mechanic, Spell mastery!

Today’s Rules Tip written by Daniel Clarke

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share