Warp World is weird, and so is Humility. Put them together, and weird things happen with triggers. If you're less confused after reading this blog entry, I'll be impressed!
So your opponent is staring you down with an active , or maybe his is online and giving you the business. Your board is fairly barren, but you've got a nice little in your hand, and you're ready to turn that threat into an answer! Well, you shouldn't. Devotion is a static ability on the five Gods we have, and it's constantly checking itself. If you take over their god with your or , the chances are low that you'll get to keep it! As soon as the God switches over to your control, it'll check
Under the new rules, you can activate your planeswalker, then cast a second copy, put only the old one in the graveyard (instead of both!), and activate the new one! Not always the best value, but a neat trick that can come in handy in certain situations.
Back when Zendikar block was still in standard, was one of my favorite cards. We may have that back, but we also have , which grants protection to just one of your creatures, but that creature needn't be white (plus you get to Scry 1). Now, we're also in a Standard heavy with Auras and Bestow creatures, so there's an interaction with protection you might not think about! Protection from a color means four things, essentially. If you give your creature Protection from Black, then any damage from
Protection makes a Bestowed aura just drop off onto the battlefield as a creature, thanks to a last-minute rule addition that made it into the 9/27/13 Comp Rules.
A very common question is whether Ashling the Pilgrim or Heartless Hidetsugu can kill opponents by dealing 21 damage even without attacking. We explain why that doesn't work!
This one is very similar to the Legend Rule update. Previously, any two planeswalkers on the field with the same subtype would go to the graveyard immediately. Now, the game only looks at the planeswalkers controlled by the same player, and if there are two or more with the same subtype, the controller chooses one to keep and the others go the the graveyard. What does this mean for you? Well, no longer kills your opponent's . Also, you and your opponent can both have Jace, the Mind Sculptor at
Magic 2014 is coming, and with it, we’re getting some major updates to the rules! One of the major changes is to the “legend rule” that governs legendary permanents. Currently, if two or more legendary permanent with the same name are on the battlefield, all of them are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action (http://blogs.magicjudges.org/rulestips/2011/03/state-based-actions-are-checked-when-a-player-would-receive-priority/). It doesn’t matter if the legendary permanents
While we're still waiting for the FAQ and the final Comprehensive Rules update bulletin for all the nit-picky details, we wanted to make sure everyone at least has an idea of how the rules are changing. The most noticeable changes are to the Legend Rule and the Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule. Rather than reinvent the wheel, I'm just going to link you to the announcement on DailyMTG for now. Once the final rules are released, we'll post some more detailed tips to elaborate. Enjoy! http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/248e
There was a time when counters didn't cancel each other out on the same permanent; you could have a bunch of +1/+1 counters and a few -1/-1 counters on a creature and they'd just co-exist happily on that creature, in case anything cared. With the Lorwyn block, that got changed up because it was a little confusing, and it also allowed you to do cool stuff like use +1/+1 counters to cancel out the -1/-1 counters from Persist, 'resetting' the creatures (or using -1/-1 counters to do the same with Undying,