Restoring an Illusionary Trigger

Andy and Neil are playing a match at a Standard GPT. Neil controls a that is a copy of , and no other creatures. Andy passes turn, and Neil casts during the end step. Neil untaps, draws, and casts . After it resolves, Andy realizes that the Angel's triggered ability was missed and calls a judge. After determining that Neil did not intentionally miss his trigger, what is the appropriate infraction/penalty/fix, if any? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario here!

Read more.

The Celestial Slip of the Devil

At a Standard PTQ, Amun casts a on Nefertiti's ; as the spell resolves, Nefertiti puts the Vexing Devil in her graveyard. Amun activates 's third ability, turning him into a creature, then attacks with Gideon and all his other creatures. Nefertiti casts a , targeting Gideon Jura. Now they both realize that the Vexing Devil is in the graveyard instead of in exile, and they call a Judge. After some investigation it is determined it was an honest mistake. What is the infraction, penalty, and

Read more.

Mwonvuli Beast Tracker, Vampire hunter

At a Competitive REL event player A casts , when it enters the battlefield he searchs for , reveals it, shuffles his deck and puts the Nighthawk into his hand instead of on top of his deck. He passes turn, and player B draws for his turn, and offers to enter combat. Player A wants to respond at this time. When checking the cards in his hand realizes the is already there, and immediately calls a judge. What is the infraction, penalty and fix (if any)? Judges, feel free to discuss this scenario

Read more.

Snow White and the Huntmaster of the Fells

Aaron and Nicole are playing in a competitive REL tournament. Nicole controls a , Aaron controls a and an . On Aaron's turn he casts and attacks with all of his creatures. Before blockers, Nicole casts  targeting the Archer. After that has resolved, she realizes that neither player had cast any spells on the previous turn and she had forgotten to transform her Huntmaster into . The players call for a judge for help figuring out what to do. You are the judge called to the table, now

Read more.

Thalia and the Gitaxian Probe of DOOM!

Andrew and Nicholas are playing a match in a Competitive REL event. Andrew begins casting by announcing to Nicholas, "Probe you, paying 2 life". Nicholas points out that he controls . Although Andrew has several untapped lands whichcould produce the mana necessary to cast the Gitaxian Probe, he does not wish to use them. Nicholas does not want to let Andrew "take back" the Probe at this point, and believes Andrew has committed to casting it. How would you -- the judge -- resolve this situation? Have

Read more.

Tamiyo and the Extra Card of Azkaban

At a PTQ Antoine asks his opponent: "How many creatures do you control tapped?" Neil answers "Four" and Antoine activates 's second activated ability targeting Neil. Antoine resolves Tamiyo's ability drawing four cards, and after Antoine puts the 4th card in his hand they both notice a tapped counted as a creature, and call for a judge. After investigating we determine no ill intent on any side. Are there any infractions? What would be the penalties and fixes associated with such infractions?

Read more.

Sword of War and Peace

At a Competitive REL event Adam controls equipped with . Adam and Nena are both at 20 life with 4 cards in hand. Adam attacks Nena who does not block. Nena crosses her life total out and writes 16 beneath it.  She then crosses out the 16 and writes 12. Adam passes turn to Nena who enters combat and then realizes that Adam has himself marked at 20 life. What is the infraction, penalty, and additional fix?

Read more.

Wolfir Silverheart

In a Limited Grand Prix (REL: Competitive) Aram controls which is currently paired with , and he controls no other creatures. Although the creatures are paired, there is no visible indicator that they are. Aram draws a card for his turn, sees that it is and slams it onto the table in excitement. He pairs it with and attacks with both; Nadine takes 14 damage. Aram passes the turn, Nadine untaps, and then she asks: "Weren't the two red creatures paired with each other?". They both realize

Read more.

Bloodgift Demon

At a Standard GPT (REL Competitive), Adam controls a . After Nadine passes her turn, Adam untaps, draws a card and immediately proceeds to the Declare Attackers Step. He attacks with both and some other creatures. Nadine casts a , targeting Bloodgift Demon, to which Adam responds by casting Undying Evil, remarking: “This badass is too good to simply let him die!”; right after that, he realizes he did not remember the trigger of the Demon and calls for a judge. When you arrive at the table,

Read more.

38 card decklist

During decklist counting at a 32 person Sealed format Grand Prix Trial, you find that a player turned in a decklist that has 38 cards. There are no white cards listed, there are no white-mana activations or flashback costs either, but the decklist does have three , and there are several strong white cards in the sideboard. At the start of round 2 you get the deck from the player, and you discover that it contains 40 cards total, including the listed and 2 that are listed as present in the card

Read more.