A spell that can’t be countered can still be targeted by a counterspell.

This was already something that came up now and then with Thrun, the Last Troll, and in days past with Emrakul, the Aeons Torn, but it’s popping up more because of Cavern of Souls and all the fun it entails.

The question: “Can you aim a counterspell at one of these things? It doesn’t do anything!”

Well, ‘can’t be countered’ doesn’t mean you can’t point a counterspell at it (don’t confuse it with “protection from counterspells,” which doesn’t actually exist). It means that if something says to counter that spell, nothing happens. Same as Indestructible, sort of; you can cast Doom Blade on your opponent’s Blightsteel Colossus, it just doesn’t DO anything. So, if you want to use a counterspell with another effect tacked on, like Lost in the Mist, Counterlash or Bone to Ash, you could do that.

For example, if you cast Lost in the Mist aimed at an uncounterable creature spell and the Cavern that cast it, it won’t counter the creature, but it doesn’t “fizzle.” The spell will still do as much as it can and bounce the Cavern.

Today’s Rules Tip written by
Trevor Nuñez, Level 1 judge from Roswell, NM

Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share