Finally! The combo everyone has been waiting for! (not exactly, but close) is back and in Standard. If you’re not familiar with the planeswalker , then you should probably check her out before you start building your standard deck. She is a three Converted Mana Cost (CMC) planeswalker that allows you to make a one-turn copy of a creature or artifact as soon as she enters by only using two loyalty. Independently, she is not that exciting, I'll admit. Then comes Aether Revolt, and with it, . When
To round out the week, we’ll take a look at , who isn't the legendary werewolf creature players have been howling for, but is quite possibly the next best thing. Unlike her werewolf brethren (and precedential flip-walker, ), Arlinn is something special: she can control her transformation, and can even transform back and forth "at will." One thing to note, however, is that whether your Arlinn is a humble Kord or has become Embraced by the Moon, she's still the same permanent, as nothing has caused
Hi everyone, and we're back! Let's get right to it and talk about our final creature/planeswalker, Nissa! Nissa, Vastwood Seer will transform into Nissa, Sage Animist, if you play a land and you control seven or more lands after that land has entered the battlefield. This trigger checks the number of lands you control at two times: when the trigger is put on the stack (to see if it should trigger in the first place), and again when the trigger goes to resolve. That means if you play your seventh
Hi everyone, and welcome back. Let's dive right in today, and talk about today's creature/planeswalker, Chandra. Chandra, Fire of Kaladesh is able to transform into Chandra, Roaring Flame if you activate Chandra's activated ability and have dealt 3 or more damage with Chandra this turn. Note that this doesn't just count damage from Chandra's activated ability: if you attack with Chandra, she deals damage without dying, then you untap Chandra and activate her ability, that's a total of 3 Chandra-damage
Welcome back. I know, it's weird. It's the weekend, and we're updating! It's not what you're used up. But creatures transforming into planeswalkers is also weird, and we're just so excited about these new planeswalkers that we want to talk about them But enough about that, let's talk about Kytheon, Hero of Akros. Or, as we know him, Gideon. Kytheon has a delayed trigger. If you attack with Kytheon and at least two other creatures, at the end of combat, Kytheon will transform into Gideon,
We've gone a level past two-card synergy: now we're discussing ONE CARD SYNERGY! Or we're just throwing around the word 'synergy' more often than a late-90s office-slogan guy, take your pick. We're sticking with for today's tip as well though. Now, you probably know that the game considers each Ashiok you play to be a totally different object from the others. If you exile 3 or 4 solid cards with Ashiok before it eats sufficient removal, your second Ashiok won't 'see' the cards the first exiled,
That's right! MORE SYNERGY! Control decks might have a hard time dealing with swarms of creatures, so they tend to play board-wipe spells like or (, we hardly knew ye...). But wiping the board doesn't do you much more than buy time if you don't have a threat of your own! Luckily, Planeswalkers live through most board-wipes, generating value all over that empty board. But sometimes, you want a quicker win. Enter this synergy! Let's say you have a and an with some big beatstick exiled under it.
The Chain Veil got a lot of speculative discussion after it was spoiled, before the release notes were available. We explain the now-official answer about how it works!
By now, I hope we're all familiar with the planeswalker redirection rule. This is the rule that says if a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you can choose to deal that damage to a planeswalker they control instead. This is to get around the fact that something like a can only target a creature or a player, and in most cases, a planeswalker is not a creature or a player. But there is a surprising Standard-legal card that can protect your planeswalkers - . Since you have
Under the new rules, you can activate your planeswalker, then cast a second copy, put only the old one in the graveyard (instead of both!), and activate the new one! Not always the best value, but a neat trick that can come in handy in certain situations.