M14 Rules Changes! The Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule

This one is very similar to the Legend Rule update. Previously, any two planeswalkers on the field with the same subtype would go to the graveyard immediately. Now, the game only looks at the planeswalkers controlled by the same player, and if there are two or more with the same subtype, the controller chooses one to keep and the others go the the graveyard. What does this mean for you? Well, no longer kills your opponent's . Also, you and your opponent can both have Jace, the Mind Sculptor at

Read more.

M14 Rules Changes, effective this Saturday July 13!

While we're still waiting for the FAQ and the final Comprehensive Rules update bulletin for all the nit-picky details, we wanted to make sure everyone at least has an idea of how the rules are changing. The most noticeable changes are to the Legend Rule and the Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule. Rather than reinvent the wheel, I'm just going to link you to the announcement on DailyMTG for now. Once the final rules are released, we'll post some more detailed tips to elaborate. Enjoy! http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/248e

Read more.

Simic Charm and Planeswalkers

That's right, we're still hot on this Simic trend for the week! I promise, last Simic topic this week is a neat new card from Gatecrash with a lot of uses; you can pump a creature a la , you can bounce a creature, or you can make everything you control Hexproof to mess with your opponent. So Simic Charm should be a great way to protect your Jace or your Garruk from your opponent's nonsense, right? Afraid not. While making them hexproof will save your planeswalkers from things like a or ,

Read more.

Boros Charm Doesn’t Save Planeswalkers

No matter when they're printed, the various Charm cycles that have been printed over the years have appealed to pretty much all types of players. They serve many functions, and the Charm cycle in Return to Ravnica block is no different. Let's focus on today. It has some pretty nifty abilities. That second one is fairly intriguing, making all of your permanents indestructible for that turn. It's a pretty good way to counter a wrath effect (or coupled with an ), but being indestuctible doesn't

Read more.

Hellrider can hit Planeswalkers

has come back into favor in a lot of aggro decks, and alongside it we’re seeing a few more Planeswalkers being played. So it’s easy to imagine that you might come into a situation where they interact! ’s ability is pretty simple; whenever you swing with a creature, triggers and burns your opponent for 1. But what if you need to aim that guaranteed 3 or 4 from the triggers at your opponent’s to keep her down? Well, you can. ’s trigger causes noncombat damage. So, it’s noncombat

Read more.

The new Jace’s +1 ability doesn’t affect Geist of Saint Traft’s Angel token.

A new block rotation always comes with a new set of planeswalkers, and the new looks to be a fair bit more complicated than his predecessors. Today we'll be focusing on his +1 ability. When it's activated, it sets up what's known as a delayed triggered ability, meaning it'll wait to be put onto the stack until a particular event happens. In this case, it's whenever a creature attacks you or a planeswalker you control, and this event occurs at the beginning of the declare attackers step. After

Read more.

Divine Deflection prevents and deals a TOTAL of X damage.

With the new card , the wording can be a little misleading. While one might read it to mean that it prevents X damage to you AND X damage for each creature or planeswalker you control, then deals all that combined damage to whatever you targeted, it doesn't quite work like that. When you cast Divine Deflection, you choose a single target, which is what any prevented damage will then be dealt to. This sets up a "shield" for the next X damage that would be dealt to you and/or permanents you control.

Read more.

How Liliana of the Veil’s first ability works.

There are many effects in Magic that cause multiple players to perform actions at the same time. 's first planeswalker ability is an example of this. When this ability resolves, each player in the game will discard a card. At first glance it seems simple, but many players are confused on the order that the decisions are made and when actions are taken. When two or more players need to make a decision at one time, the active player makes his decision first, followed by each other player according

Read more.

Gideon vs. Combust, which wins?

's third ability that costs zero loyalty counters makes Gideon into a 6/6 creature. (It will matter later, but this creature will be white, because Gideon is a white permanent.) When this happens Gideon also has an ability that prevents all damage to it. So in effect you gain a fairly large and tough attacking creature. deals five damage to a white or blue creature AND this damage cannot be prevented. So if Combust is played targeting an 'animated' Gideon, what happens? In this example we have

Read more.

How Inkmoth Nexus and Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas interact.

One area of player confusion is how multiple abilities that 'animate' a permanent interact. A very common interaction that has come up a lot lately deals with ' animation ability and the planeswalker second activated ability. In order to get this ball rolling, you must first use Inkmoth Nexus' ability to turn the Nexus into a 1/1 artifact creature land with both flying and infect. This Nexus will still have the normal abilities of an Inkmoth Nexus, the mana ability and the 'animation' activated

Read more.