Kaladesh Prerelease Week: Fabricate

Welcome back to the Kaladesh Prerelease Week! Today we're going over Fabricate, a new mechanic that shows off the inventiveness of a plane full of artificers. Fabricate is a triggered ability that fires upon the permanent entering the battlefield, and will come with a number- for example, has Fabricate 2. What that means is as the Fabricate trigger resolves, you can either place 2 +1/+1 counters on the Augmenter, or create two Servos- adorable little 1/1 colorless artifact creature tokens. So you

Read more.

Tournament Tuesday: Update to Post-Mulligan “Scry”

Welcome back! Today we'll be going over a minor update to the pre-game procedure. Since Pro Tour Magic Origins in Vancouver, we've been using a 'new' mulligan procedure commonly referred to as the Vancouver Mulligan (much as its predecessor was sometimes known as the Paris Mulligan): a player who is dissatisfied with their hand may shuffle it back into their library, and draw one fewer card. After both players have settled on a hand they'd like to keep, any player who has fewer cards than the "normal"

Read more.

Emrakul and End of Round Procedures!

Welcome back to the Post Pro Tour Week! Today we’re going over another bit of : her extra turn creation! Specifically we’ll be going over how it works in the context of the End of Round Procedures at a sanctioned event. As you probably know, sanctioned events usually have timed rounds, and if you’re still playing when time is called, the game goes into Extra Turns. Whoever’s turn it is when time runs out is “Turn 0”. The next turn to be taken is Turn 1, then Turn 2, etc, up until Turn

Read more.

When Sylvan Library collides with Competitive tournament Magic

Sylvan Library has been the source of many judge discussion about "what do we do with this card in real life??" And the official policy has changed a few times. The comprehensive rules handle the card just fine, and in an interface that removes human dexterity from the equation, like MTGO, there are no problems. But in real life, there is a basic philosophy that we can't simply rely on trusting the player to make legal choices. With all other cards that require a choice relating to a specific kind

Read more.

PSA: How to handle a draft with DFCs!

Don't worry about it. Just draft. I promise it will be ok! Best practices: Have players reveal the DFCs when they open each booster for a few seconds, so players can look around. Remind players to put each pick on the top of thier single face-down pile, which will make any drafted DFCs visible for others to see if they care about it. Q. What about [various hypothethical issues] that might come up?? They won't. Q. But seriously, what if they do?? Seriously, they won't. If you run into

Read more.

You can keep extra copies of DFCs with your sideboard (in different sleeves)

Hello all! This is a public service announcement about the rules for what you're allowed (or not allowed) to keep with your sideboard. You CANNOT keep cards that are legal in the format and "conceivably playable" in your deck (i.e., your deck could even theoretically cast that card with the colors of mana your deck can produce)... UNLESS those cards are: Promotional cards that have been handed out as part of the tournament. We don't want to punish people who just don't have a better place

Read more.

SOI Prerelease Week! Prerelease Primer

Welcome back to Prerelease Week here at the Rules Blog! Today we'll be going over what you can expect at your SOI Prerelease, and some tips on how to enjoy it to the fullest! First, we'll quickly cover the 'new' mechanic of Skulk: I frame it that way because it's actually something that already exists! Skulk is really pretty simple: a creature with Skulk can't be blocked by something with greater power. It skulks right by! What's important is that the legality is only checked when you actually declare

Read more.

Kalitas Week: Kalitas Is Not Optional!

Welcome back to Kalitas Week here on the Rules Blog! Today we're covering another common misconception about the chief: what, exactly, his second ability IS. A lot of people seem to mistakenly think that Kalitas' ability is a trigger, and subject to the Missed Trigger rules. However, it is not! A trigger will have the words "When", "Whenever", or "At" on it, and Kalitas lacks all those words. What Kalitas has is a static ability, which creates a replacement effect: it replaces one event with another

Read more.

Prerelease Week! What to Expect When You’re Expecting (Eldrazi)

Welcome back to Prerelease Week! Today we're doing a little bit of Tournament Tuesday with our Prerelease Week and giving you a little primer on what to expect at your Oath of the Gatewatch prereleases this weekend. We'll be going over what you'll be opening, what's new, and a few tips to maximize your fun! Let's start with the kit itself: Just like with Battle for Zendikar, we're back to everyone getting the same basic kit, instead of choosing from multiple kits like in Theros and Ravnica blocks.

Read more.